The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Thu Sep 20, 2018 6:54 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2014 3:20 pm 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:21 pm
Posts: 288
Location: Middlesboro KY
these posts are why I am reluctant to go 64 bit. Not too smart with this type of thing. Wish I was. :(

_________________
"A pessimist sees a problem with an opportunity. an optimist sees an opportunity with a problem."
Winston Churchill

Civilization is invaded by barbarians every generation. (author unknown)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2014 11:48 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
These posts show that if you go, you better go big or go home.

I know when I go 64bit, it means a complete overhaul of both hardware and software.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 6:31 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20860
Location: 07438
64-bit processing is the coming trend. But, 128-bit processing may be in our near future!
The concept of 128-bit processing was considered around 1976.
We have to "go with the flow" or be left adrift!

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Back to Square One Again
PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2014 9:30 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Well sir .... I just got this sound card with a gameport today that is suppose to be for window 7 64 bit ...
Requirements:
1. Available PCI slot
2. CD-ROM for Driver installation
3. Speakers
4. Windows3.1/95/98/ME/2000/XP/2003/VISTA, Windows NT 4.X/5.X, Win7 64-bit

yet when I go to install the driver I get this message during the installation....

"please plug -in C-media pci audio"

Of course it is plugged in ... I double checked it to make sure it was seated properly and I disable the on board sound in the BIOS, but still I get this message. I'm back in the same boat again. Anyone know what the heck is going on? :-|

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: More Troubles
PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2014 1:02 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
I tried the other PCI slot to see if I got a response there. I had to remove the GTX280 because it was blocking the slot and put in the old pci-e card. I checked the device manager and there was some kind of audio listing under the sound. I tried to install the software and got the same results it claiming it needs the card plugged in. I put everything back the way it was including the sound card ... when into the device manager and found there was no listing for sound. HUH? :-| :roll: Ah ..... Help? .... :(

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2014 1:03 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
Did you disable the onboard sound card first in the bios? otherwise loads of conflicts will happen.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2014 4:51 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Yes sir I did ... tell me ... what is the installation of UEFI on my mobo and how would it affect my sound card or not affect it rather to where the mobo doesn't see it? Is there a way to corrected so it will see the pci card?

I put in a ticket with Gigabyte to see if the mobo is compatible with that card. :-|

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 23, 2014 4:56 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
I seem to have tracked down the manufacturer of this card:
http://www.win-star.com/product/product ... &CatID=117

If only that page would open to see if there's a new driver set/FAQ for the card....

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 23, 2014 5:21 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20860
Location: 07438
If you disabled all features of the on-board audio, including possible MIDI/game port and modem use, yet no 'discovery' of the add-in card, check the BIOS pages for a "Reset Configuration Data" which has a yes/no choice. The POST process will check every IRQ and DMA assignment as to use, and concur with the BIOS pages as to settings. If any errors, a notice will be posted. If you note that "Reset Configuration Data" control line, set it to 'yes' and restart.
Check the Hardware/Device Manager page.. note if there are any flags for devices. Do a "scan for hardware changes" from the primary header listing for the system (right-click on it).
Some devices require installing the software (driver) first, then the hardware. Others the opposite.
Should not matter what PCI slot the audio card is installed to. Try on another system, see if it is detected. If not, possibly defective?

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 23, 2014 8:11 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
USELESS!!!!!!
http://www.win-star.com/supports/

all go to a page with links to ati.com and nvidia.com
Ok so we have a cheap sound card from some POS Chinese manufacturer. Let's try the reference drivers then from cmedia themself:
http://dl2.opendrivers.com/dl_file.php? ... r=0f12cf4e

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group