The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Wed Aug 15, 2018 2:43 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:20 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Posts: 1911
Location: Reading the forums, where else?
Only real change will be migrating from an active OS instead of using the Windows.old folder.

Should I disconnect the drive with Win 7 before restoring the XP image on the new drive? BTW, I also did an image of Win 7 after the install.

_________________
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 6:06 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20849
Location: 07438
Both OS versions on the same drive, or different drives? If on the same drive, then certain OS association files will be written over for the newer OS.. and the older OS association files are gone.. unless you opted to keep them. Downgrading or reverting back to XP may not be an easy road.
If on different drives, then you may have a better chance of a restore.
Windows Downgrading Rights:

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 6:15 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
Yes, disconnect

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 6:47 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Posts: 1911
Location: Reading the forums, where else?
Karl- separate drives. SATA controller set to boot from 1st drive only (DVD drive is first boot device).

_________________
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 5:27 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20849
Location: 07438
evasive wrote:
Yes, disconnect

Best advice! Restoring a system with two OS platforms being accessible can cause problems.
If Win XP is on the primary bootable drive, there likely is a 'boot menu' (boot.ini) file there which offers the choice of OS to boot to.. even if on separate drives. Don't alter that unless you make a backup copy! It can be edited from the Control Panel/System/Advanced/"Startup and Recovery".
Very likely, as was noted, the newer OS has overwritten some OS association files used by the older OS.. and they might not be compatible to that version. The primary or "C" drive is default for most OS programming and file association needs.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 2:42 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Posts: 1911
Location: Reading the forums, where else?
Disconnected drive with Win7 new install, and restored XP image to new drive, then did an in-place upgrade to Win7. Haven't tried to plug in old drive yet, as I have no need for it at the moment.

Having some issues with PCMover, as I had used it, then had to start from scratch. Laplink was kind enough to give me another install with my serial number (1 serial number, 1 install), but won't work. Trading e-mails with them.


Once I get things finished, I will start a new topic with the procedure I came up with.

_________________
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2014 5:48 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20849
Location: 07438
I have used Acronis Migrate Easy® on my system a few times.. upgrade to a larger drive only, but no change to the OS or features. No "one-time only" problem. Many programs are intended for only one use.
Sadly, Microsoft® won't permit a direct upgrade from Win XP to Win 7 or 8. A 'clean' install is preferred.. which means all your other programming must be reinstalled. The only alternative is to upgrade to Win Vista.. then to Win 7 or 8. What a hassle! Win XP to Win 7 upgrade:

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2014 3:02 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Posts: 1911
Location: Reading the forums, where else?
Yeah, that's why PC Mover sounded so good. Supposed to move and install programs. It actually did install Office 2003 ok, but going to look at the "Advanced" options and see if other programs will install.

_________________
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 23, 2014 8:07 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Posts: 1911
Location: Reading the forums, where else?
Ended up using 2nd serial number I bought, and using the printed copy of Windows 7 Upgrade Adviser, and the "Advanced" option in PC Mover, migrated applications that were not moved using the "Standard" option.

ALL programs I moved, installed and work, with not having to re-activate, re-enter product keys, or manually re-install.

I was also able install my new video card with no issues.

I DO have an issue with shared folders being viewed from other PC's and will start a thread in Networking to address that.

Laplink PC Mover Windows 8 Upgrade Assistant does what is says it will.

_________________
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 23, 2014 8:13 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
Thank you sir for reporting that one back. Having a product that does what it says on the box is not easy to come by, these days.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group