New Motherboard

All hardware or software issues that do not have a specific forum go here.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

New Motherboard

Postby Coasters » Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:48 am

I am a first time poster on here.

I have an XP machine and I am looking to using just the case to build a new system. It has an ASUS motherboard in it. I'll have to grab the model number later I mis placed the paper I wrote it on. Its an AMD processor. Its been a good board but the question I have is I would like to find a motherboard to start a new system with that will fit my current configuration. so it will fit how mine fits now. My tower is a full size case.

Any help would be great thanks
Coasters
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:43 am

Postby bdub » Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:56 am

so the only thing you want to keep is the case and the power supply? if you keep the psu, what wattage/make is it? also you would want it to have some modern connectors like sata and pci-e power connectors. otherwise, make sure if you change a psu, that it'll fit the case. some proprietary systems make such a change hard.

how old is the system in question?
Last edited by bdub on Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
Samsung 840 EVo SSD 120 GB
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3653
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Location: Washington D.C.

Postby Coasters » Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:00 am

The system is 14 years old. Built in 2001. So I would think I would need a new power supply. If i could keep the disc drives would be nice but they the same age as the system.
Coasters
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:43 am

Postby bdub » Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:05 am

your cd roms and hdd's are prolly IDE, and that's hard to come by these days.
you prolly need a psu, correct. main thing now is to check the case that you can take the old power supply out, and a regular atx sized one will fit in its place. can you get the model number of the system, and send us that. we can find pictures on the web that can tell us more if this case is worth all this trouble. you can easily get a new reasonable case for $20- $40 sometimes that are much better than those death traps dell sold back in the day (not saying that you own a dell, just an example).

is the machine for general websurfing and home use, or you got gaming in mind, or what?
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
Samsung 840 EVo SSD 120 GB
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3653
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Location: Washington D.C.

Postby Coasters » Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:20 am

Its a case from a local company that used to build computers. So it was a custom build to begin with. Yeah everything is IDE.

I will need a CPU.

The use of this system will be for general web surfing, gaming, and I would kind of like to act like a server for the home too.
Coasters
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:43 am

Postby bdub » Wed Mar 12, 2014 12:10 pm

good, then most standard parts will fit it, you can get an atx sized mobo and psu, and a dvd or bd rom will fit s 5.25 inch opening with no problems then.

the only small problem I see with using the case, is most cases from that age didn't have usb connectors in the front, but maybe we can take your floppy drive out, and replace it with some type of front panel for that stuff, maybe a card reader too.

what is your budget?
Last edited by bdub on Wed Mar 12, 2014 12:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
Samsung 840 EVo SSD 120 GB
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3653
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Location: Washington D.C.

Postby Coasters » Wed Mar 12, 2014 12:12 pm

I am looking to spend no more than 800. Granted I would like to be under that so I can afford the OS
Coasters
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:43 am

Postby bdub » Wed Mar 12, 2014 12:16 pm

cool, that's plenty. oh, what games? do you game at a high resolution?

I'd suggest an fm2+ mobo with an amd apu. prolly quad core, don't see a reason you need more than that.

I'm quite happy with my gigabyte f2a88x-d3h which I am using now at my job.

look it up, read reviews about fm2+, if you have any questions i'll answer, and make you a better list, if you want more.
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
Samsung 840 EVo SSD 120 GB
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3653
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Location: Washington D.C.

Postby Coasters » Wed Mar 12, 2014 12:19 pm

The set up I'm hoping to have is:

a quad core or more processor, I've had good luck with AMD in the past and so I'd prob stay with them.

I would like at least 16 gb of ram

a 100 GB SSD drive to load the OS and a 1 tb HDD for all the storage.

I would like to hook up three monitors to it.

I would like room to expand the ram and other features too

So I guess would I have any trouble finding a mother board that will use the same attachments that my current board does?
Coasters
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:43 am

Postby bdub » Wed Mar 12, 2014 12:29 pm

yep, unless you add a card to do your legacy devices, which is what besides the hdd? a cdrom? you can get a new dvdrom for under $20, so legacy isn't worth it there. unless you got a really good sized ide hdd, and even then, it's gonna be slow as molasses compared to any of the new tech.

the only question is whether you get an apu with graphics built into it, or a 750k and add on a nice graphics card for the gaming, that is why im asking what your gaming needs are. now I see three monitors, so I guess that's saying add in graphics card, in which case am3+ might be a better platform.


everything else looks good, though. the ssd, the bigger hdd, good picks.

one last question, are you ready to buy now? and what country do you live in. I usually give newegg links.
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
Samsung 840 EVo SSD 120 GB
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3653
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Location: Washington D.C.

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron