Windows Won't Boot Up ... Keeps Rebooting

Discussions, problem solving, and tips and trick for operating systems go here. Windows, Mac, and Linux are ok. If you want to fight or put down an OS go to The Hundred Year War Forum. It will not be tolerated here. Make sure to post what OS is being discussed in the title of your post.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Command prompt open and imediately closes on windows XP

Postby rascard2007 » Thu Feb 13, 2014 2:34 pm

that is the question.

whenever I try to execute any .bat or .exe file that uses it, the cmd window opens for a fraction of second and closes and nothing is executed.

I type cmd from the Run dialog box and it´s the same, the only way to keep the cmd window open is typing cmd /d in the run dialog box, and even in this case the programs are not executed within this window and I don´t get any error neither

any help?

many thanks in advance
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-
rascard2007
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:47 am
Location: Havana, Cuba

Postby rascard2007 » Thu Feb 13, 2014 2:34 pm

I put my bet on the HDD. I had this issue several times
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-
rascard2007
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:47 am
Location: Havana, Cuba

Ordered new HHD

Postby OneSpirit » Thu Feb 13, 2014 4:41 pm

Well sir ... I took a chance and ordered a new 80G WD HHD for $25 to the door. 1 year warranty. I'll see what happens when it gets here. :-|
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Still No Go

Postby OneSpirit » Sun Feb 16, 2014 10:00 am

Well sir ... Got the new hhd yesterday ... installed it ... put the OS on with no problem ... go to install comodo do the reboot, and I get a message that there is a boot disk failure and to insert the os cd.

I shut down ... checked the hhd to make sure it was properly connected. Checked the booting sequence in the Bios to make sure the hhd was the first in line. The machine when to the cd and started loading the files again ... started from scratch ... I told it not to change anything but it didn't make any difference ... it would load the files go to reboot again ... then start all over. :roll:

So is this a mobo problem? I don't want to change any caps. I'd rather see if one of the old mobo and cpu I have in the attic will work. PDT_Armataz_01_02
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

One other thing

Postby OneSpirit » Sun Feb 16, 2014 3:55 pm

I did take a magnified glass and a bright light to check the caps to see I any were leaking or warped ... they all looked good. :-|
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Got XP Installed

Postby OneSpirit » Sun Feb 16, 2014 7:52 pm

Well sir ... I used a program called mini tool partition in boot cd form. I wiped the partition with it. I changed the cable to the hhd and the mobo. I put the xp cd back in did a full format and was able to install it all the way. I had it reboot and when it did I got the message again "DISK BOOT FAILURE, INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER" Why would it install the OS then give the error... still a hardware problem? :-|
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Postby Karlsweldt » Mon Feb 17, 2014 7:02 am

Try again from a "cold" start-up. If the hard drive is not listed in the first splash screen, it may be due to a time-out error. Some hard drives take more than 3 seconds to do the warm-up exercise and self-ID to the POST process. Checking the BIOS page to see if the drive is listed also will prove if it is detected properly.
"DISK BOOT FAILURE" could have several causes.. mechanical failure, no self-ID, or the MBR was not written properly during the OS install.
Boot to the OS install disk, and choose a 'repair' operation. Hopefully, that will fix it.
This link from MS details the proper parsing for Fixing the MBR if required.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20690
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

It's listed

Postby OneSpirit » Wed Feb 19, 2014 2:34 pm

Yep the hhd is listed in the bios ... it strange but I am not getting an option to fix the problem from the OS disk. Is there a free easy to use MBR fixer out there? I tested the new hhd with seatools bootable cd. It checked out good. The one I replace failed the test. So the hhd was part of the problem.

I downloaded and installed linxlive cd to see it I could establish whether or not the mobo is bad. It loaded the software, and showed the icon and text while loading, but when it was finish all I got was a black screen and the mouse pointer ... that responded to the mouse no problem, but that's it. :-|
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Didn't wait long enough

Postby OneSpirit » Wed Feb 19, 2014 4:19 pm

Looks like the linxlive does work. It take a good while for it to load up ... about 12 minutes or so. Once it open I was able to do open games. So does this eliminate the mobo as a problem? :-|
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

It goes into windows but ...

Postby OneSpirit » Wed Feb 19, 2014 9:03 pm

I downloaded the xp recovery bootable disk ISO burn it booted the computer and that gave me the repair option. It took me into dos mode and I gave it the fixmbr command, stated it was successful, took out the disk restarted and got the boot disk failure message.

I use the recovery disk again. Typed in R for repair it took me to dos and I gave it the fixboot command. Left in the recovery disk, rebooted ... it when into windows.

Took out the recovery disk booted again ... back to the failure message. Put the recovery disk back in rebooted didn't press any key to boot from the cd and it goes into windows.

So what's up with that? It will only boot into windows with the recovery cd?

It booted up and didn't show the press any key to boot from cd ... and I got the boot failure message. As long as I get the press any key message and not press any key it will go into windows.

Since I can get into windows now is there something I can do to make it boot properly without the recovery cd? :-|
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

PreviousNext

Return to Operating Systems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest