The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Mon Sep 24, 2018 3:52 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2014 2:34 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:47 am
Posts: 721
Location: Havana, Cuba
that is the question.

whenever I try to execute any .bat or .exe file that uses it, the cmd window opens for a fraction of second and closes and nothing is executed.

I type cmd from the Run dialog box and it´s the same, the only way to keep the cmd window open is typing cmd /d in the run dialog box, and even in this case the programs are not executed within this window and I don´t get any error neither

any help?

many thanks in advance

_________________
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2014 2:34 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:47 am
Posts: 721
Location: Havana, Cuba
I put my bet on the HDD. I had this issue several times

_________________
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Ordered new HHD
PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2014 4:41 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Well sir ... I took a chance and ordered a new 80G WD HHD for $25 to the door. 1 year warranty. I'll see what happens when it gets here. :-|

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Still No Go
PostPosted: Sun Feb 16, 2014 10:00 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Well sir ... Got the new hhd yesterday ... installed it ... put the OS on with no problem ... go to install comodo do the reboot, and I get a message that there is a boot disk failure and to insert the os cd.

I shut down ... checked the hhd to make sure it was properly connected. Checked the booting sequence in the Bios to make sure the hhd was the first in line. The machine when to the cd and started loading the files again ... started from scratch ... I told it not to change anything but it didn't make any difference ... it would load the files go to reboot again ... then start all over. :roll:

So is this a mobo problem? I don't want to change any caps. I'd rather see if one of the old mobo and cpu I have in the attic will work. PDT_Armataz_01_02

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: One other thing
PostPosted: Sun Feb 16, 2014 3:55 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
I did take a magnified glass and a bright light to check the caps to see I any were leaking or warped ... they all looked good. :-|

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Got XP Installed
PostPosted: Sun Feb 16, 2014 7:52 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Well sir ... I used a program called mini tool partition in boot cd form. I wiped the partition with it. I changed the cable to the hhd and the mobo. I put the xp cd back in did a full format and was able to install it all the way. I had it reboot and when it did I got the message again "DISK BOOT FAILURE, INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER" Why would it install the OS then give the error... still a hardware problem? :-|

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 7:02 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20861
Location: 07438
Try again from a "cold" start-up. If the hard drive is not listed in the first splash screen, it may be due to a time-out error. Some hard drives take more than 3 seconds to do the warm-up exercise and self-ID to the POST process. Checking the BIOS page to see if the drive is listed also will prove if it is detected properly.
"DISK BOOT FAILURE" could have several causes.. mechanical failure, no self-ID, or the MBR was not written properly during the OS install.
Boot to the OS install disk, and choose a 'repair' operation. Hopefully, that will fix it.
This link from MS details the proper parsing for Fixing the MBR if required.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: It's listed
PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 2:34 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Yep the hhd is listed in the bios ... it strange but I am not getting an option to fix the problem from the OS disk. Is there a free easy to use MBR fixer out there? I tested the new hhd with seatools bootable cd. It checked out good. The one I replace failed the test. So the hhd was part of the problem.

I downloaded and installed linxlive cd to see it I could establish whether or not the mobo is bad. It loaded the software, and showed the icon and text while loading, but when it was finish all I got was a black screen and the mouse pointer ... that responded to the mouse no problem, but that's it. :-|

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Didn't wait long enough
PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 4:19 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Looks like the linxlive does work. It take a good while for it to load up ... about 12 minutes or so. Once it open I was able to do open games. So does this eliminate the mobo as a problem? :-|

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 9:03 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
I downloaded the xp recovery bootable disk ISO burn it booted the computer and that gave me the repair option. It took me into dos mode and I gave it the fixmbr command, stated it was successful, took out the disk restarted and got the boot disk failure message.

I use the recovery disk again. Typed in R for repair it took me to dos and I gave it the fixboot command. Left in the recovery disk, rebooted ... it when into windows.

Took out the recovery disk booted again ... back to the failure message. Put the recovery disk back in rebooted didn't press any key to boot from the cd and it goes into windows.

So what's up with that? It will only boot into windows with the recovery cd?

It booted up and didn't show the press any key to boot from cd ... and I got the boot failure message. As long as I get the press any key message and not press any key it will go into windows.

Since I can get into windows now is there something I can do to make it boot properly without the recovery cd? :-|

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group