The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Thu Sep 20, 2018 5:13 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Feb 10, 2014 7:51 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Howdy ... well sir ... I have this desktop HP pavilion a360x. It will not boot into windows. I will get a menu screen asking about booting window normally ... last known good configuration ... that stuff. Tried all options, but it won't go as far as the window xp opening screen, it just reboots. No matter what I do, it won't go into windows at all ... not even safe mode. It has a western digital hhd 80GB ... and it's not full. 2GB of ram. Windows xp pro 32 bit. Any idea how to correct this situation??? PDT_Armataz_01_03

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 10, 2014 8:04 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20859
Location: 07438
With this system, is it the same OS install that worked before? If you 'transplant' a Windows OS to another system, it can sense that the original setup is different.. and go belly-up. Major differences in chipsets or features will trigger this 'death roll'.
Any chance a virus or Trojan got into the setup? Only way to find out is to slave the drive to another known-clean system and do a sweep.
You could boot to the OS install disk, and do a 'repair' process also.
But there is a chance the system has the "bad caps" syndrome.. and may not be salvageable. Yes, even laptops get this malaise. More info about the "bad caps" syndrome at www.badcaps.net/

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 10, 2014 11:15 am 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Posts: 3671
Location: Washington D.C.
have you ever seen it boot up?

is the drive the os is on a s-ata drive or an old ide drive?

_________________
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD FX-6300 Vishera CPU
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
Samsung 840 EVo SSD 120 GB
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 10, 2014 12:26 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
I tried to have it boot from the cd in order to do a repair ... the cd started loading up files, then after a few minutes I get a message that a file is corrupted and windows can't install. I tried to reboot and have it try again, but now it will go to the "press any key to boot from cd" I hit any key(s) and nothing happens. The message stays on the screen.

I never seen it boot up. Only what I described. I tried to hook up the hhd to another computer as the slave, but the computer didn't see the drive at all. The hhd is a WD IDE drive.

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2014 9:20 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20859
Location: 07438
Go into the BIOS, check the date/time settings and other settings to ensure they are how the system is physically configured. Any "wandering" of the date/time means the BIOS battery is near the end of its life.. and cannot provide proper voltage for the CMOS to retain settings.
Changing the BIOS battery on a laptop is no simple task.. but some models are easier than others.
Also remove/reseat the memory modules. If the OS cannot load all its files fully, then possibly a memory fault.. insufficient free memory or wrong timings.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2014 11:54 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
overheating problem if you ask me because the longer it is on, the less it does. Got any pets in the house where this laptop resides? I may have collected its own little blanket inside...

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Time right on
PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2014 3:30 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Well sir ... I checked the bios and the time is correct. It also sees both memory sticks ... this is not a laptop ... it is a desktop. Is there a program where you can test the memory without going into windows?

The reason I'm wondering if the hhd is bad because the other computer didn't see it. The computer stays on it just reboots continually.

The inside of the tower isn't that bad ... it can be clean but it's not bad.

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2014 5:29 pm 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14301
Location: Maine
IIRC, Memtest86 is a non-windows program..

http://www.memtest.org

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2014 1:53 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
Whoopsie, the MS-6577 board in there
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/soft ... 1640#N1155
(check the bios update link)

has a _dedicated_ capacitor replacement kit.
http://www.badcaps.net/store/product_in ... ucts_id=96

I wonder, would that be the issue?

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2014 11:17 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20859
Location: 07438
evasive wrote:
Whoopsie, the MS-6577 board in there
has a _dedicated_ capacitor replacement kit.
I wonder, would that be the issue?

Could likely be the cause! Improper voltage to the Northbridge chip can cause all kinds of problems!
But if that hard drive was not 'seen' on another system, I would suspect it as being bad. Power up the drive, listen to it closely.. it should first give a faint whirring sound, increasing in tempo. Then a faint swishing sound, as the heads go through a warm-up exercise. if only a few faint clicks or silence, then the drive is bad. But ensure that the drive jumper settings conform to the header connected to it.
That notation I made about " Changing the BIOS battery on a laptop is no simple task.. but some models are easier than others." was only added to refer to laptops.. which are indeed more complicated than a desktop model. Any desktop model should require no more than 5 minutes to change the BIOS battery. Might take up to an hour to do a laptop BIOS battery!

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group