Windows Won't Boot Up ... Keeps Rebooting

Discussions, problem solving, and tips and trick for operating systems go here. Windows, Mac, and Linux are ok. If you want to fight or put down an OS go to The Hundred Year War Forum. It will not be tolerated here. Make sure to post what OS is being discussed in the title of your post.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Windows Won't Boot Up ... Keeps Rebooting

Postby OneSpirit » Mon Feb 10, 2014 7:51 am

Howdy ... well sir ... I have this desktop HP pavilion a360x. It will not boot into windows. I will get a menu screen asking about booting window normally ... last known good configuration ... that stuff. Tried all options, but it won't go as far as the window xp opening screen, it just reboots. No matter what I do, it won't go into windows at all ... not even safe mode. It has a western digital hhd 80GB ... and it's not full. 2GB of ram. Windows xp pro 32 bit. Any idea how to correct this situation??? PDT_Armataz_01_03
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Postby Karlsweldt » Mon Feb 10, 2014 8:04 am

With this system, is it the same OS install that worked before? If you 'transplant' a Windows OS to another system, it can sense that the original setup is different.. and go belly-up. Major differences in chipsets or features will trigger this 'death roll'.
Any chance a virus or Trojan got into the setup? Only way to find out is to slave the drive to another known-clean system and do a sweep.
You could boot to the OS install disk, and do a 'repair' process also.
But there is a chance the system has the "bad caps" syndrome.. and may not be salvageable. Yes, even laptops get this malaise. More info about the "bad caps" syndrome at www.badcaps.net/
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20659
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby bdub » Mon Feb 10, 2014 11:15 am

have you ever seen it boot up?

is the drive the os is on a s-ata drive or an old ide drive?
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
Samsung 840 EVo SSD 120 GB
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3653
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Location: Washington D.C.

Tried that ... didn't work

Postby OneSpirit » Mon Feb 10, 2014 12:26 pm

I tried to have it boot from the cd in order to do a repair ... the cd started loading up files, then after a few minutes I get a message that a file is corrupted and windows can't install. I tried to reboot and have it try again, but now it will go to the "press any key to boot from cd" I hit any key(s) and nothing happens. The message stays on the screen.

I never seen it boot up. Only what I described. I tried to hook up the hhd to another computer as the slave, but the computer didn't see the drive at all. The hhd is a WD IDE drive.
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Postby Karlsweldt » Tue Feb 11, 2014 9:20 am

Go into the BIOS, check the date/time settings and other settings to ensure they are how the system is physically configured. Any "wandering" of the date/time means the BIOS battery is near the end of its life.. and cannot provide proper voltage for the CMOS to retain settings.
Changing the BIOS battery on a laptop is no simple task.. but some models are easier than others.
Also remove/reseat the memory modules. If the OS cannot load all its files fully, then possibly a memory fault.. insufficient free memory or wrong timings.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20659
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby evasive » Tue Feb 11, 2014 11:54 am

overheating problem if you ask me because the longer it is on, the less it does. Got any pets in the house where this laptop resides? I may have collected its own little blanket inside...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Time right on

Postby OneSpirit » Tue Feb 11, 2014 3:30 pm

Well sir ... I checked the bios and the time is correct. It also sees both memory sticks ... this is not a laptop ... it is a desktop. Is there a program where you can test the memory without going into windows?

The reason I'm wondering if the hhd is bad because the other computer didn't see it. The computer stays on it just reboots continually.

The inside of the tower isn't that bad ... it can be clean but it's not bad.
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Postby Toby B. » Tue Feb 11, 2014 5:29 pm

IIRC, Memtest86 is a non-windows program..

http://www.memtest.org
Toby B.
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14277
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Maine

Postby evasive » Wed Feb 12, 2014 1:53 am

Whoopsie, the MS-6577 board in there
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/soft ... 1640#N1155
(check the bios update link)

has a _dedicated_ capacitor replacement kit.
http://www.badcaps.net/store/product_in ... ucts_id=96

I wonder, would that be the issue?
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Karlsweldt » Wed Feb 12, 2014 11:17 am

evasive wrote:Whoopsie, the MS-6577 board in there
has a _dedicated_ capacitor replacement kit.
I wonder, would that be the issue?

Could likely be the cause! Improper voltage to the Northbridge chip can cause all kinds of problems!
But if that hard drive was not 'seen' on another system, I would suspect it as being bad. Power up the drive, listen to it closely.. it should first give a faint whirring sound, increasing in tempo. Then a faint swishing sound, as the heads go through a warm-up exercise. if only a few faint clicks or silence, then the drive is bad. But ensure that the drive jumper settings conform to the header connected to it.
That notation I made about " Changing the BIOS battery on a laptop is no simple task.. but some models are easier than others." was only added to refer to laptops.. which are indeed more complicated than a desktop model. Any desktop model should require no more than 5 minutes to change the BIOS battery. Might take up to an hour to do a laptop BIOS battery!
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20659
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Next

Return to Operating Systems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron