SOLVED 1Gbps Link Speed slower than 100Mbps

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby evasive » Wed Jan 01, 2014 8:52 pm

1 long 3 short: video error of some sort. reset to defaults before and after flashing the bios usually prev ents this kind of mishap.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby kevinloh » Thu Jan 02, 2014 2:22 am

UPDATE: 1 lond 3 short beeps fixed by reinserting graphic card. Contacts dirty.

I realized that my LAN issue was not due to the BIOS but overclocking.

Question: Why does my Ethernet bandwidth decreases when I increase the BCLK even by a few MHz. This is strange can anyone explain this. Does this occur only on X79 Gigabyte motherboards?
GIGABYTE GA-X79-UD3
Intel 3930K 3.20Ghz O/C to 4.0GHz
PHANTEKS PH-TC14PE CPU Cooler
16GB CORSAIR DDR3-2133 LP
SAMSUNG 830 256GB SSD SATA3
12TB HDD Drives
EVGA Nvidia 2GB GTX680 Superclocked Signature 2
CORSAIR AX1200W PSU
Sharkoon T28 Green Edition Case
DELL 22 Widescreen LCD Monitor E228WFP
kevinloh
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap
 
Posts: 449
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 2:41 am
Location: Bru 4 30 N, 114 40 E

Postby kevinloh » Thu Jan 02, 2014 2:23 am

UPDATE: 1 long 3 short beeps fixed by reinserting graphic card. Contacts dirty.

I realized that my LAN issue was not due to the BIOS but overclocking.

Question: Why does my Ethernet bandwidth decreases when I increase the BCLK even by a few MHz. This is strange can anyone explain this. Does this occur only on X79 Gigabyte motherboards?

If my BLCK frequency is set to 100Mhz (Default) I reach maximum bandwidth of 120MB/s however increasing by 1-2Mhz caused Ethernet bandwidth to decrease to 1MB/s or even in KB/s

Who'd ever thought overclocking decreases LAN performance. This is certainly strange and perhaps some feedback as to why this is so is very much appreciated.
GIGABYTE GA-X79-UD3
Intel 3930K 3.20Ghz O/C to 4.0GHz
PHANTEKS PH-TC14PE CPU Cooler
16GB CORSAIR DDR3-2133 LP
SAMSUNG 830 256GB SSD SATA3
12TB HDD Drives
EVGA Nvidia 2GB GTX680 Superclocked Signature 2
CORSAIR AX1200W PSU
Sharkoon T28 Green Edition Case
DELL 22 Widescreen LCD Monitor E228WFP
kevinloh
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap
 
Posts: 449
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 2:41 am
Location: Bru 4 30 N, 114 40 E

Postby Karlsweldt » Thu Jan 02, 2014 6:23 am

Overclocking has pitfalls. There is only one primary oscillator for all bus frequencies. Any other bus speeds are derivatives of this.
The primary FSB setting can affect other bus speeds. If there are BIOS settings to correlate FSB speed to PCI bus speed or other, ensure it is in the proper ratio or standard. The default base speed for PCI is 33.337 MHz. If that speed increases by only 5 Hz, it could cause timing issues with interleaved clock cycles and synchronization with other hosts via LAN or other networking. Errors in data packets cause resends and slow performance.
Typically, if main system memory does not have enough "head room" for faster bus speeds, restarts or BSODs will be had. Same too with the cache memory on the CPU die.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20690
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby evasive » Mon Jan 06, 2014 8:05 pm

The ethernet chip connected to the PCI bus which depends on BCLK and the ethernet chip not liking to have its PCI bus overclocked? This is something I had in the 486/pentium era, some ethernet cards were fine with an OCd PCI bus, others simply collapsed...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Hardware Junkie » Wed Jan 08, 2014 8:19 am

The reason can depend on the board design. I would probably guess that the onboard LAN is configured to use the components you're changing the values on.
You could try using an offboard card if you have a free PCI slot.
The other option is you could try changing the onboard network card to 1000Mbps, rather then Auto. It might work, or you might not get a network connection.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby kevinloh » Sat Jan 18, 2014 5:24 pm

Yeah I have tried while overclocking to set the onboard NIC forced to 1Gbps full duplex but to no avail.

The onboard NIC do not like it when the BCLK is overclocked even by a few Mhz. Talk about being picky!
GIGABYTE GA-X79-UD3
Intel 3930K 3.20Ghz O/C to 4.0GHz
PHANTEKS PH-TC14PE CPU Cooler
16GB CORSAIR DDR3-2133 LP
SAMSUNG 830 256GB SSD SATA3
12TB HDD Drives
EVGA Nvidia 2GB GTX680 Superclocked Signature 2
CORSAIR AX1200W PSU
Sharkoon T28 Green Edition Case
DELL 22 Widescreen LCD Monitor E228WFP
kevinloh
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap
 
Posts: 449
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 2:41 am
Location: Bru 4 30 N, 114 40 E

Previous

Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron