The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Mon Sep 24, 2018 9:46 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2013 4:55 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 2337
Location: Capital District Area, NY
MOBO, vcard, PS all look fine. Cables all look good and reseated.

I gave "Macpup" a try, and no go. :( It didn't even want to load correctly.


As for "Tinycore" & "DSL" I couldn't locate the proper files to download. :(


What is making this so damn hard? I know how to download the ISO, and
put them on the CD/DVDs.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2013 8:12 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 2741
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin
i've never seen all those distros fail when attempting to load. 2 or 3 of them, sure...but, not like 10+. There's something wrong hardware-wise, the trick is finding it (obviously).

-Roach

_________________
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 5:35 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
Roach412 wrote:
i've never seen all those distros fail when attempting to load. 2 or 3 of them, sure...but, not like 10+. There's something wrong hardware-wise, the trick is finding it (obviously).

-Roach


yeah I agree.

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 10:31 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 2337
Location: Capital District Area, NY
Quote:
There's something wrong hardware-wise, the trick is finding it (obviously).
:?


The only thing(s) hardware-wise that is wrong was my (internal) DVD+-/RW drive. A few months back it started to not work properly. So I got an (external) DVD+-/RW drive to replace it. I didn't take out the internal one yet. Just haven't had the chance to tear apart my case to do it.

But in the last few days my (internal) DVD-ROM drive has gone flaky. The tray keeps going in & out. So I stopped using it.

Both internal drives are over 10+ years old. The external drive is used for all uses.
_________________________

Could that be causing my problems with all the Linux Distros?

Would removing the internal disc drives fix this problem?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 1:38 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
hmmm not sure how nice your motherboard is playing with the external writer BIOS-wise for support in the linux liveCDs. Less is more usually so I'd suggest to try and get a new internal one (borrow/beg from somewhere) because that might indeed be the culprit.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 5:53 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
Unless the bad internal one is wreaking havoc with the hard drive. Did you disconnect it? Remove the IDE cable if you haven't. Set the hard drive to Master (Or Single if required).

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 8:23 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20862
Location: 07438
Quote:
But in the last few days my (internal) DVD-ROM drive has gone flaky. The tray keeps going in & out. So I stopped using it.

Almost all optical drives (excluding laptop types) have sliding plastic parts and gears which are somewhat self-lubricating when new. But over time, that quality is lost.. and the tray can cycle in and out without reason, due to limit switches not sensing proper travel.
No way to remedy that problem.. except replacement. Five years use for an optical drive is a "good" life. Beyond that, problems can arise.
Then too, the polycarbonate lens on the laser is very attractive to pollutants. Cleaning it with a laser lens cleaning disk after maybe 20 or so hours of use ensures it can target the data layer properly. Never use any cleaning liquids with ammonia on it! That can permanently yellow the lens.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 10:40 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 2337
Location: Capital District Area, NY
I was able to get some new blank media to give this another try.

I'm running these as Live DVDs from an external drive. I need to try some out before I install. Here are my recent results.


Mageria 4 Live DVD Gnome & Mageria 4 Live DVD KDE

Both get to the desktop, but one reaches a second desktop with an animated cursor. How long does it usually take to load the full desktop?


Knoppix 7 DVD

Boots and loads ok. But what do I need to do at this message:
Enter run level:_


Kubuntu 13.10, Lubuntu 13.10, Ubuntu 13.10

All get to the load screen. How long should they take to completely load?


Fedora Live Desktop, Debian Live 7.4

Gets to the boot screen. But eventually shows several error messages.
IE: Unable to read data, Unable to read page


openSUSE 13.1 KDE Live & openSUSE 13.1 Gnome Live

Both get to desktop. How long should they take to completely load?


Zorin 8.1, PC Linux, Elementary OS, Freespire, Linuxmint

All get to the load screen. How long show they take to completely load?

DSL

Couldn't figure out what to select.

StartOS 5.1 Live

DVD didn't even move.


Overall most appeared to be loading. But they seem to take a long time.
Is that because I'm using an external drive? How long should they take to load? I really like to try these distros out.

Please help me get these working. ATM I can't get a newer M$ OS.
I'd much rather get Linux up and running.

:)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2014 5:40 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20862
Location: 07438
Loading any operating system is fastest when the files are low in count, and from a resident hard drive. The OS works primarily from system memory, which has the fastest response. Any hard drive or storage media is only a repository for data. MS DOS 5.0 was the first to use the expanded memory storage area (EMS) above the first meg of system memory, to load OS files. All previous versions loaded OS files in the first 640 KB of memory! Other program files could suffer space restrictions.
An optical drive is about four times slower in data transfer than a hard drive in residence. Same too for any removable media. Network (LAN) connections are into the 100 megabits/second range or higher. USB 3.0 speed is up to 4 gigabits/second. USB 2.0 is up to 400 megabits/second, and USB 1.0 is down around 1.5 megabits/second, low bandwidth, and up to 12 megabits/second at high bandwidth. All USB rates are dependent on cable type and length. Reference: Wiki, USB
Linux versions are the least congested with system files. For a 100% load time, should be less than two minutes. The latest Windows OS might be accessible in about two minutes, but can take perhaps another five minutes to finish its backup/restore process and allow full user access.

New Egg does offer a Windows 7 OEM pack for about $100.00 USD.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2014 1:37 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 2337
Location: Capital District Area, NY
Karlsweldt wrote:
New Egg does offer a Windows 7 OEM pack for about $100.00 USD.


Would my current system even run it?

MS XP SP3
MSI MS-7181
AMD Athlon 64 3200+
2.21 GHz
2 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce 7800GS
Plextor DVD+-RW PX-712A
ASUS DVD-ROM E616P
Maxtor 6Y200P0 Internal HDD x2
___________________________________________________


If I did a full install of any of Linux Distros would they load faster?

Or is there something completely wrong with discs? I gotten all the ISO
files from the Distros websites. Burned the images to discs, etc.

Are there any comparison charts for these distros?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group