The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Fri Sep 21, 2018 6:04 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Oct 03, 2013 6:26 pm 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 5:11 pm
Posts: 476
Location: Buffalo NY
Existing HDD with three partitions (one active) from a conventional BIOS to a UEFI based BIOS
The 1st partition is only 10GB. I want to double it for Win7 (no games, non O/S files are stored outside the active partition. I don't need any more room). The 2nd & 3rd are storage that I want to keep. The extra 10GB would come from the 2nd partition.

Switching from a conventional BIOS to UHCI, is that any problem for non active partitions as far as loosing data and having accessibility?

I have been using EaseUS & Partition Manager, but neither will allow me to resize an existing HDD's partition without wiping the entire drive. I haven't tried GParted yet.

I'm looking for a program that I can boot from. Input?

(I hope that made sense, ask if it didn't)

_________________
When not in use, turn off the juice.
Think of someone else instead of just yourself. There is far more to it than your utility bill


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 03, 2013 11:05 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
GParted Live should be able to do that.
http://gparted.sourceforge.net/livecd.php

You need to decrease that second partition first (and it needs to have enough free space to do so!) before moving it further on the disk, then increase the first partition. Since you're dealing with NTFS, do this in 2 seperate sequences.

http://gparted.sourceforge.net/faq.php

pay attention to 7,14,15,16

You will need to reinstall windows but the data partitions should be fine as long as those are not extended partitions but primary partitions as well. See:
http://www.overclock.net/t/836058/can-i ... -partition

in case you feel like recreating the primary partition that has extended partitions connected.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2013 2:21 am 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 5:11 pm
Posts: 476
Location: Buffalo NY
That 1st partition does have a O/S on it, but I'm upgrading to Win7, so that isn't a issue.
The 2nd partition has plenty of of room.
I do have GParted, but I haven't really used it yet other than just loading it.

I will report back. Thanks.

_________________
When not in use, turn off the juice.
Think of someone else instead of just yourself. There is far more to it than your utility bill


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2013 11:53 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Posts: 3147
Location: Right behind you
Win 7 has a decent partitioning system built in, under Disk Management. You can load up Windows and just use that.

_________________
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2013 12:37 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 2741
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin
fussnfeathers wrote:
Win 7 has a decent partitioning system built in, under Disk Management. You can load up Windows and just use that.


+1 on this. unless you're doing something relatively crazy, Win7's disk management should be good enough.

-Roach

_________________
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2013 4:43 pm 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 5:11 pm
Posts: 476
Location: Buffalo NY
Quote:
Win 7 has a decent partitioning system built in, under Disk Management. You can load up Windows and just use that.
And how is that done before the install since I would need to have this done before I install Win7??

_________________
When not in use, turn off the juice.
Think of someone else instead of just yourself. There is far more to it than your utility bill


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 6:21 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2004 3:18 pm
Posts: 741
Location: over there...
videobruce,
quote: "I have been using EaseUS & Partition Manager, but neither will allow me to resize an existing HDD's partition without wiping the entire drive. I haven't tried GParted yet."

I use EaseUS Partition Manager and it does allow you to resize an existing partition without wiping the entire hdd.

As evasive suggested, you must decrease the 2nd partition first, then increase the 1st partition, to NTFS primary partitions.

I also use GParted, and it works flawlessly, also.
Good luck.
Tri.

_________________
"Common sense is not so common." - Voltaire


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 6:47 pm 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 5:11 pm
Posts: 476
Location: Buffalo NY
I wanted to enlarge an existing partition without loosing what was on it. I know if you delete the partition and reduce the adjoining one the free space becomes one, but you loose what was on the parturition.

_________________
When not in use, turn off the juice.
Think of someone else instead of just yourself. There is far more to it than your utility bill


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 9:51 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
You don't need to delete the partition if using Gparted in the way that was described. If you shrink a partition it will indeed compress everything spacewise just like normal defragging would, then set a new boundary.

After that you can join the then newly freed space to your primary partition, basically setting a new boundary without even touching the data in there.

Yes, agreed, this is something the native windows 7 partitioner cannot.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group