Win 8 + permissions = aggravation

Discussions, problem solving, and tips and trick for operating systems go here. Windows, Mac, and Linux are ok. If you want to fight or put down an OS go to The Hundred Year War Forum. It will not be tolerated here. Make sure to post what OS is being discussed in the title of your post.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby Mark H » Fri May 17, 2013 4:52 pm

Did some searching on command line and tried this (file to be moved is on the desktop):

Right click on CMD and run as administrator
cd till I get C:\Users\Susan\Desktop

C:\Users\Susan\Desktop>move xxxxxx C:\ProgramData\AOL\C_AOL Desktop 9.7\organize

Keep getting "Syntax Error"

What next?
Last edited by Mark H on Sat May 18, 2013 12:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.
Mark H
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Reading the forums, where else?

Postby Karlsweldt » Sat May 18, 2013 5:31 am

"Syntax error" refers to characters in a command-line string that are not allowed. Reference:
A backslash ( \ ) equates to a directory division or sub-division. The forward slash ( / ) equates to an and/or situation, or combined names or operatives. Spaces are definitely not allowed!
Here is a brief review of command-prompt processes. You have to be precise with wording and special characters for the command to be accepted and function. May seem complicated, but after some association with the process, becomes easy.
If the process does not self-cancel, then type " exit " to close the process.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20663
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby Mark H » Sat May 18, 2013 12:24 pm

Spaces are definitely not allowed!


Aha! So, if I place an underscore or remove the space between AOL and Desktop and between Desktop and 9 it should work.
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.
Mark H
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Reading the forums, where else?

Postby Mark H » Sat May 18, 2013 1:54 pm

Getting there, fixed syntax error, but now getting "The system cannot find the path specified. 0 files moved." Path listed below:

C:\Users\Susan\Desktop> Move xxxxxxx C:\ProgramData\AOL\C_AOL_Desktop_9.7\organize

I replaced spaces with underscore, except C_AOL which was already there

learning, learning
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.
Mark H
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Reading the forums, where else?

Postby Mr T » Sat May 18, 2013 11:19 pm

Why don't you install firefox, set AO(f*****g)L as the home page, then use a FF theme so it looks like AOL....?
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 17087
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Location: England

Postby Mark H » Sun May 19, 2013 3:00 am

What I'm attempting to move is the saved on PC mail. All other crap is saved on AOHell servers.
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.
Mark H
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Reading the forums, where else?

Postby evasive » Sun May 19, 2013 3:08 am

Ah, this one:
http://help.aol.com/help/microsites/mic ... lId=219378

That looks slightly different from what you are trying...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Mark H » Sun May 19, 2013 3:52 am

Evasive,

That I already knew how to do, what is stopping me is I can't get permission from Win 8 to move the file. That's why the command line option looked promising.
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.
Mark H
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Reading the forums, where else?

Postby Mark H » Sun May 19, 2013 4:31 am

And we all overlooked the obvious.....create a new (administrator) account, drag and drop the file, done! :mb_clap:: :mb_clap::

I don't understand why I had no permission issues with the new account, but it worked.

Thanks for all the suggestions
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.
Mark H
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Reading the forums, where else?

Postby Karlsweldt » Sun May 19, 2013 8:26 am

A 'newer' OS version of the same name will have more restrictions on access by older OS versions. The inverse is also true, as "obsolescence" is the ruling challenge. Ensuring each OS version is in the same network name and group will ease the transition of files and access. And check that the firewall program on both computers accepts the other network IP address and personage as "trusted".
Creating a "guest" file is not recommended, as intrusion from hackers can be too easy. Specific names for external users is much safer. And with passwords that are not easy to crack!
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20663
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

PreviousNext

Return to Operating Systems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest