The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Sep 25, 2018 3:24 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2013 4:52 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Posts: 1911
Location: Reading the forums, where else?
Did some searching on command line and tried this (file to be moved is on the desktop):

Right click on CMD and run as administrator
cd till I get C:\Users\Susan\Desktop

C:\Users\Susan\Desktop>move xxxxxx C:\ProgramData\AOL\C_AOL Desktop 9.7\organize

Keep getting "Syntax Error"

What next?

_________________
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.


Last edited by Mark H on Sat May 18, 2013 12:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2013 5:31 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20862
Location: 07438
"Syntax error" refers to characters in a command-line string that are not allowed. Reference:
A backslash ( \ ) equates to a directory division or sub-division. The forward slash ( / ) equates to an and/or situation, or combined names or operatives. Spaces are definitely not allowed!
Here is a brief review of command-prompt processes. You have to be precise with wording and special characters for the command to be accepted and function. May seem complicated, but after some association with the process, becomes easy.
If the process does not self-cancel, then type " exit " to close the process.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2013 12:24 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Posts: 1911
Location: Reading the forums, where else?
Quote:
Spaces are definitely not allowed!


Aha! So, if I place an underscore or remove the space between AOL and Desktop and between Desktop and 9 it should work.

_________________
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2013 1:54 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Posts: 1911
Location: Reading the forums, where else?
Getting there, fixed syntax error, but now getting "The system cannot find the path specified. 0 files moved." Path listed below:

C:\Users\Susan\Desktop> Move xxxxxxx C:\ProgramData\AOL\C_AOL_Desktop_9.7\organize

I replaced spaces with underscore, except C_AOL which was already there

learning, learning

_________________
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2013 11:19 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17135
Location: England
Why don't you install firefox, set AO(f*****g)L as the home page, then use a FF theme so it looks like AOL....?

_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2013 3:00 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Posts: 1911
Location: Reading the forums, where else?
What I'm attempting to move is the saved on PC mail. All other crap is saved on AOHell servers.

_________________
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2013 3:08 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
Ah, this one:
http://help.aol.com/help/microsites/mic ... lId=219378

That looks slightly different from what you are trying...

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2013 3:52 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Posts: 1911
Location: Reading the forums, where else?
Evasive,

That I already knew how to do, what is stopping me is I can't get permission from Win 8 to move the file. That's why the command line option looked promising.

_________________
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2013 4:31 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Posts: 1911
Location: Reading the forums, where else?
And we all overlooked the obvious.....create a new (administrator) account, drag and drop the file, done! :mb_clap:: :mb_clap::

I don't understand why I had no permission issues with the new account, but it worked.

Thanks for all the suggestions

_________________
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2013 8:26 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20862
Location: 07438
A 'newer' OS version of the same name will have more restrictions on access by older OS versions. The inverse is also true, as "obsolescence" is the ruling challenge. Ensuring each OS version is in the same network name and group will ease the transition of files and access. And check that the firewall program on both computers accepts the other network IP address and personage as "trusted".
Creating a "guest" file is not recommended, as intrusion from hackers can be too easy. Specific names for external users is much safer. And with passwords that are not easy to crack!

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group