Another green board

The place to post if you are having trouble identifying your motherboard.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby Karlsweldt » Wed Mar 27, 2013 7:28 am

Re useit:
Please post the specifics of this system, for a better diagnosis and suggestions.

Memory, if installed as one module, must be in the first-detected slot, typically the "bank 0, slot 0" position. Some oddballs require a different option. Best to read the user's manual. For very old boards with SIMM modules, many required two modules in the 72-pin or four modules in the 30-pin versions. Modern DDR memory requires only one module, if a single-channel setup. Can also be applied to multi-channel setups, for testing.
As to older systems, they may recognize only single-density memory setups. High-density modules would show only 1/2 the true module capacity, on the POST pre-boot screen. Whether it be single-sided or double-sided modules on a memory card, does not indicate the single-density or high-density status. The logo on the chips and the module tag have the info for research.. and usually the status.
When mixing modules of different speeds, it is important to put the slowest module in the first-detected slot. This sets the speed for all modules. Faster modules will clock back with good stability, but slower modules will falter at higher speeds. With multi-channel memory setups, you must have the identical memory amounts in all channels.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19122
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby Hardware Junkie » Thu Mar 28, 2013 7:56 am

SDRAM is single channel. So you can run the board with 1 stick of memory and it will run fine.
I wouldn't mix single and double sided dimms. That will probably cause issues.
And you can run different speeds (PC66, PC100 and PC133), but the slowest stick will slow down all of them.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19399
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby evasive » Fri Mar 29, 2013 1:59 am

What CPU are you using? Because I think this board can only do 1:1 FSB/memory speed so if you have a 133MHz FSB CPU you need to use 133MHz DIMMs _only_

Next this VIA chipset only supports low-density DIMMs, in the same fashion as the Intel 440BX chipset. For rules on what DIMMs to use, see here:
http://homepage.hispeed.ch/rscheidegger/ram_bx_faq.html
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 36769
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Hardware Junkie » Sat Mar 30, 2013 4:31 pm

According to QDIs old website
System Memory
Three 168-pin 3.3V PC133 DIMM sockets
Support up to 768MB SDRAM
Support 66/100/133MHz Synchronous DRAM and 66MHz EDO


Bus Speed
66/100/133MHz FSB
Over clock up to 155MHz
Selectable by both Jumper setting and SpeedEasy
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19399
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby useit » Thu Jul 25, 2013 6:18 am

Thank you guys
useit
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 5:55 am

Previous

Return to Motherboard Identification Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests