The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Fri Dec 14, 2018 7:35 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 8:23 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
You need DIMMs with 16 chips, 8 on each side if you want to use 256MB DIMMs. The chipset does not support high-density chips which is what is on most 256MB modules. They have only 8 chips...

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 1:53 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 5:55 am
Posts: 6
evasive, thank's a lot my friend, that was correct. I've tested it and it worked fine.
A DIMM of 512 is out of question, right?
The max of each slot is 256MB, isn't it?

Thank's


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:32 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
Yep, 256MB is the absolute maximum. Thanks for the feedback and happy computing!

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2013 11:03 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 5:55 am
Posts: 6
Just "one" more question:

Does this processor:

http://ark.intel.com/products/27534/Int ... 33-MHz-FSB
or
http://ark.intel.com/products/27525/Int ... 33-MHz-FSB

works fine in this Motherboard? I would make some changes in MoBo configuration, or is just change de processor and everything else iqual?

One more tk's guys
;)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 7:10 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
The Socket 370 design used a CPU with "extra" pins that were dedicated to setting the FSB speed, core voltages and multiplier ratio. Some board designs were totally "jumper-less", others had specific jumpers to set a range of speeds. Depends on the year of issue. Some designs had a jumper block that covered up to six pairs of pins.. setting auto configuration.
Since your board has a 133 MHz FSB base, likely those processor types noted will work fine. But ensure the memory used is rated at the FSB speed! Having the mobo manual would reveal what processor/memory types are compatible, as well as speed ranges.
Memory modules have a keying slot (or two) to ensure they are used only in the intended slot for the system design. The older motherboard designs can only recognize single-density memory modules.
Ensure your PSU has enough reserve to power those CPU types. Minimal 400 watts or higher. And that the heat sink is sufficient to keep them within safe temperature ranges.
There were different design models for the Pentium III processor. Most common was the "flip-chip", "Coppermine" and "Tualatin" versions. This WIKI link about the Pentium III may be of interest.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 1:28 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 5:55 am
Posts: 6
I followed your advice, and read the WIKI...damn...i was much more in doubt after, because this motherboard says "socket 370 (intel coppermineTM) Processors", and you wrote "those processor types noted will work fine". The 1.4 processor is Tualatin....
Someone to tie this situacion pealse!!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 1:56 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
The VT82C693A north bridge chip in your board does NOT support Tualatin core processors.
http://www.via.com.tw/en/products/chips ... /index.jsp

One of the biggest issues with older chipsets is the lower core voltage:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pentium_III

Alas the VIA wiki does not give info on that:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_VIA_chipsets

The only VIA chipsets that support Tualatins have a model ending in T like this one:
http://www.via.com.tw/en/products/chips ... /index.jsp
because their northbridge can detect and properly set voltages for a Tualatin core processor.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 9:48 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
:oops:
Sorry if I misled.. having a bad cold fouls one's thoughts!
The Tualatin CPU indeed works with only specific motherboard types. But the lesser models should work properly. There is a stepping code on Intel® processors.. a true identity link to the type and use parameters.
While the Socket 370 design is considered "obsolete" and no longer supported, their useful life is not yet over. Somewhere in my archives, I have the list of all Pentium II and Pentium III stepping codes and model specs.
Most Pentium III types operated up to 600 Mhz.. some up to 1.1 Ghz, and were compatible with most Socket 370 designs.
Here are some links to the Intel processor types..
http://ark.intel.com/products/family/59 ... -Processor
http://www.intel.com/support/processors ... 023730.htm

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:32 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:47 am
Posts: 721
Location: Havana, Cuba
the Socket 370 were produced in three differente packages PPGA, FCPGA and FCPGAII, only the last one supports the Tualatin family of CPU´s

_________________
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group