setting minidump to a different location.

Get your PC tech problems solved here. Quick response time.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby Karlsweldt » Sun Sep 23, 2012 5:14 am

If under-clocking the old memory and you had problems, the guilt finger points to other factors. If the PSU was marginal in its power output regulation, then the CPU may not have had enough power to perform optimally.. and controllers can be affected.
With the modern design of the memory controller on the CPU die, lower voltages are required.. and unless modules are rated for that lower voltage, they can falter. One missed clock cycle with paging can result in mini-dumps. The OS constantly flushes memory and reloads.. could be several times in only a second or two. Those cycles are seldom noticed. It is when a major memory dump happens.. such as a Kernel or System dump.. that the dreaded BSOD rears its head.
Good to hear all is stable now. Hopefully, no more hair-pulling!
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19127
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby bdub » Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:59 am

just as an update...
the old pcp&p psu that was a possible culprit in this issue turned out to not work all that well when paired back with the original motherboard and a pci 6200 graphics card. it worked for a short time, then the system wouldn't start up, giving constant beeps... looks like it did give up the ghost for good.
also the mushkin ddr3 essentials kit went back to mushkin, and they sent me two new sticks to replace the bad. i haven't tested them yet in any machine, but i trust mushkin did me right.
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
Samsung 840 EVo SSD 120 GB
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3484
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Location: Washington D.C.

Postby evasive » Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:56 am

open up the old PSU and check for bad capacitors please, especially the output one covered by the wire loom on the secondary side. If this PSU has bad brand caps in it, people need to know out there before it takes out other hardware.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 36773
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby bdub » Mon Dec 24, 2012 7:27 am

that's a good idea, i'll see if i can get it open.
mushkin screwed me, and sent me a bad stick back in that rma i made to them. one stick works good, the other won't even boot a computer! bastards!
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
Samsung 840 EVo SSD 120 GB
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3484
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Location: Washington D.C.

Previous

Return to Tech Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests