The Mother Board
Acer DA061L Boxer AM2 61 - Broke SATA pins

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> Tech Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Laurakitty
Pilgrim
Pilgrim


Joined: 28 Nov 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 10:15 am    Post subject: Acer DA061L Boxer AM2 61 - Broke SATA pins Reply with quote

On my Acer DA061L Boxer AM2 61 motherboard, the SATA connector pins are broke. What should I do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 3450
Location: Washington D.C.

PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

if the connector on the motherboard is physically damaged, there's not much recourse but change to another port that isn't damaged... if ALL of them are broke, you need to use another way to attach hdd's to your system, and that is a card that plugs into one of the open expansion slots on the motherboard. or possibly use an esata port on the back i/o area, if there is one.

from what i can see, there are two sata ports on that mobo. are they both physically broken (snapped off)?
_________________
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
seagate 500GB 32M cache
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Laurakitty
Pilgrim
Pilgrim


Joined: 28 Nov 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope. Just the plastic covering and the pins on SATA 2 are all broke off. Will I need to replace the motherboard?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 3450
Location: Washington D.C.

PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Acer-DA061L-Boxer-61-Motherboard-08120-1-AM2-MB-G1001-001-/330647005835

in this picture there are two sata ports... one is above the ram clasp (as pictured), and the other is to the right of that ram clasp. you don't have both those ports?
_________________
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
seagate 500GB 32M cache
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Laurakitty
Pilgrim
Pilgrim


Joined: 28 Nov 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 3450
Location: Washington D.C.

PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, then you either need a pci-e card that has an internal sata connector to run to the hdd (you will also have to re-install the OS, most likely, but maybe not)... or, yes, another mobo will do. maybe someone has a trick to fixing those ports, but they are factory soldered, and very hard to replace.

there's also the possibility of attching that hdd to the esata port on the back i/o area... if there is an esata port back there.
_________________
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
seagate 500GB 32M cache
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 12 Nov 2003
Posts: 19026
Location: 07438

PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the pins have broken off, it is possible to replace the socket for a SATA port. But you would need to purchase a new socket from an electronics supplier, or scavenge one from a bad board. Then the problem of ensuring the connections are proper. The sockets are keyed with a 'lip' on one end of the tongue in the slot, to match the cable plug. You would have to note another exact board model to determine how the sockets are oriented.
Would be less of a hassle to just add a device card, and disable the on-board feature.
_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> Tech Support All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group