The Mother Board
v2dp mobo

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> Tech Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Michaeljay2
Pilgrim
Pilgrim


Joined: 08 Jan 2006
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2012 3:27 pm    Post subject: v2dp mobo Reply with quote

This mobo has a weird problem, it won't load the unichrome video drivers I obtained from the manufactures site, it loads all the other drivers with no problem. Would this indicate that the mobo is bad? it's running an amd2200 processer with 2 gigs of mem and the bios information is 11-23-2004-km266pro-8235-km400/km266pro phoenix-award bios v 6.00pg.
Does anyone have any input to this problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 12 Nov 2003
Posts: 19013
Location: 07438

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2012 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What OS version are you using? And are the drivers signed digitally in accordance with the OS provider's agreement? Drivers for the latest OS versions of Windows must meet the WHQL vendor list of product quality.. or they may be rejected. And certain driver types cause interference with other programs.
If the OS has installed its own set of drivers for a device, they may be appropriate.. but not exact for best performance. If the OS balks at the install, then insist (force) the OS to accept them.
If a previous video device is similar (chipset wise) to a new video device, then the old drivers must be uninstalled and the device removed from the hardware lineup. Shut down, remove or disable the old device and install the new device.. then boot up with the driver disk available in a drive unit. The OS should do a search for "new" features and drivers automatically.
_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master


Joined: 14 Jun 2002
Posts: 16750
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2012 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check for leaking or bulging capacitors. Motherboards from that era are really prone to them. If it is an old PSU, get a torch and check that out too..

Check http://www.badcaps.net/ out...
_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Michaeljay2
Pilgrim
Pilgrim


Joined: 08 Jan 2006
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2012 11:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using XP Pro and windows installed a generic driver. The downloaded files from the manufacture installed with no problem and were diglitly signed. The file name of the problem file is Prosavage DDR_wxp_139433. When I run setup it starts up fine then says it can't complete the install. From device manager's update driver or add device it comes up with an not compatilble error. There were a few poped electroletic caps and they were replaced with the same value uf at a higher volts.
I am an electronic tech but old school and have been building/repairing and setting up computers since the day's of the 8088 cpu's.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kokalo
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree


Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 1074
Location: Downunder (NZ)

PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2012 1:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What has me confused is the string in the filename... wxp is obvious and 1394 stinks like FireWire err.... IEEE1394 - is it using the wrong file or is the filename just a coincidence....

If it wasn't a UniChrome I'd suggest throw Linux at it, even just a live distro, but with spotty support for UC graphics that may turn out inconclusive...

On the other hand, chipset is old enough that W7 or even Vista should have basic drivers for it, maybe try that, throw in a blank drive and load a trial... If W7 spits the dummy at it, I think you can safely stop wasting time and replace the board.
_________________


P3! (No, not PIII)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 06 May 2001
Posts: 36700
Location: Netherlands, Breda

PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2012 2:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jetway board:
http://www.jetway.com.tw/jw/motherboard_view.asp?productid=34&proname=V2DP

Drivers specific for this board:
http://www.jetway.com.tw/jw/motherboard_view.asp?productid=34&proname=V2DP

Replace with low-ESR caps please, otherwise the cure is worse than the problem...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capacitor_plague
_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.



System error, strike any user to continue...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Michaeljay2
Pilgrim
Pilgrim


Joined: 08 Jan 2006
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2012 8:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried the jetway site, downloaded the video driver and came up with the same error cannot complete the install. setup only starts up, it doesn't even begin the real install and the replacment caps I use are from other bad mobos with good caps. I have several dozen around and I guess I will have to add another. lol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 3449
Location: Washington D.C.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2012 8:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cheap agp or pci card to run the graphics could work, and then see if you can turn onboard graphics off in bios.
as i recall, those old onboard chips from that era can't drive widescreen monitors at proper resolutions anyhow.
_________________
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
seagate 500GB 32M cache
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 06 May 2001
Posts: 36700
Location: Netherlands, Breda

PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2012 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Michaeljay2 wrote:
I tried the jetway site, downloaded the video driver and came up with the same error cannot complete the install. setup only starts up, it doesn't even begin the real install and the replacment caps I use are from other bad mobos with good caps. I have several dozen around and I guess I will have to add another. lol


When recapping a board, recap ALL of the caps because bad brand = bad brand, no exceptions there, even if they are not doming/bulging yet, rest assured their ESR is skyhigh already and the voltage will be rippling like crazy...
_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.



System error, strike any user to continue...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 12 Nov 2003
Posts: 19013
Location: 07438

PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2012 9:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have recapped several motherboards, all but one with success. And some video cards plus a PSU or two thrown in for 'flavor'.
Even if the capacitor shows no external signs, such as domed top or lifting off the board, internally it may be bad. Only the low ESR type capacitors should be used.. they have less internal Equivalent Series Resistance, and thus are favored for sensitive circuitry. The rating as to Micro Farads must be identical, as well as the voltage rating. Never use a lower voltage capacitor, but a higher voltage capacitor is sometimes acceptable. The preferred temperature rating for computer use is 105 C. A lower temperature rating could mean a premature failure. Certain brands are well known to have been "born bad", as noted in the thread about "Bad, Bad Capacitors" here on the Forum.
Sometimes, a capacitor may go for years with no problem, then suddenly go DOA. Heat is a major enemy of capacitors.
Some capacitors are intended to filter out the ripple or AC factor of DC power supplies.. others are intended to keep separate the DC voltages between circuits, yet pass the AC pulses.
An AC capacitor is merely two DC capacitors, connected in reverse serial fashion ( negative lead to negative lead, the positive leads brought out for connection).
The modern "dry" capacitor is now used all across the industries. No more "wet" capacitors, as years ago. Thankfully, they have gone out of favor. Not good to smell an acidic odor coming from a device as the capacitor's electrolyte boils off!!!

Sorry for the ramble. oops
_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> Tech Support All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group