The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Mon Sep 24, 2018 9:46 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 7:24 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20862
Location: 07438
Any type of capacitor cannot be properly checked for health while in the circuit, unless you have an expensive test device. Internal faults are not always evident, but when the tops of small electrolytic types begin to bulge or show leakage, they are indeed bad. Their bottoms have a rubber plug to seal them. With internal pressure, the plug can bulge.. and lift the capacitor from the board surface. This also can cause internal connections to break.

Almost all small capacitors are made in China, Japan or Taiwan. Only the highest-quality units may be made by specialist companies for specific uses, elsewhere. You wouldn't want to find "bad caps" in electronic gear on the ISS!!!!!

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 8:39 am 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Posts: 3671
Location: Washington D.C.
the eight pin is power to the processor... are you sure you seated the processor correctly? you might want to chek it... make sure there's no bent pins on the board side... the lga should look nice and even.

_________________
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD FX-6300 Vishera CPU
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
Samsung 840 EVo SSD 120 GB
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: msi p45 platinum
PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 7:25 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 11:40 am
Posts: 8
hello I seated thr processor in the slots. my computer was running fine last thursday in the morning and also in the afternoon after work.

I turned it on last thursday surfed the net and while I was looking up something the unit shut down on me and I tried to restart it and it would not start. it would only flash the leds on the board abd in the power supply.

It gets power all through the board the red led glows when you turn it on from the power supply. but when you push the power button on the case or on the board it just flashes the leds. It want to start but will not

but when I remove the 8 pin cable the unit will run but no power the cpu.
every thing runs the video card works fans work also.I also tried a nother cpu same problem as I stated


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 6:31 am 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Posts: 3671
Location: Washington D.C.
seems you have it down to power supply or board... can you switch out the psu for something you know is good?

_________________
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD FX-6300 Vishera CPU
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
Samsung 840 EVo SSD 120 GB
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 8:37 am 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:21 pm
Posts: 288
Location: Middlesboro KY
I would try removing the ram sticks, hard drive(s) dvd burner vid card and just have the cpu connected and see what happens.

_________________
"A pessimist sees a problem with an opportunity. an optimist sees an opportunity with a problem."
Winston Churchill

Civilization is invaded by barbarians every generation. (author unknown)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:24 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:16 pm
Posts: 1
I have the same problem. MSI P45 Platinum Manufacture date is Feb '09. Got a Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 powered by a Corsair TX850. I've got a brand new Corsair HX1050 that I've tested on this board and I get the same symptoms. I've blown the dust off of the board since its been running in my case for atleast 3 years. I inspected and reset the CPU/heatsink, but I still get no boot when all power cables are connected. Remove the 8pin cable to the cpu power and its powers up but ofcourse no post and such.

My conclusion is that the board is toast. I've inspected capacitors and chips but I can't see any visible damage or signs or such. I've already ordered new parts and don't see a reason to get a new board for this CPU due to the age. Going to sell what parts I can.

Good luck and if you have any other results that help or solve this, please share.

-Cheese


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 4:51 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20862
Location: 07438
With almost every type of ATX or other modern motherboard, the PSU must present a 'power good' signal to the motherboard sensor before it (the motherboard) will show active signs. This 'power good' signal is a +5 volt level, or very close to that. Too low, and the sensor will not give the clearance to the motherboard circuits to become active. Could be several reasons this signal is either too low or not present.. faulty PSU, excessive power load, or faulty motherboard component (possibly capacitor?). That 'power good' lead is the gray wire at the rear of the main power plug. Use only a digital multi-meter to check the voltage.. an analog type will load the circuit too heavily. The signal is presented within a second or two, after the PSU has stabilized its load to the system.

It is not advised to do so except by a professional, but use a 47-ohm 1 watt resistor to bridge from a +5 volt (red) lead to that gray wire.. and note if the voltage comes to about +5volts. The motherboard should show activity then. But do not keep this bridge in place too long, as there may be a circuit problem elsewhere and the motherboard can be fatally damaged.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 1:29 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 11:40 am
Posts: 8
Thank you

I will try to test tat wire I have a dmm

Thanks again.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: YandexBot [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group