The Mother Board
Unlock cores on AMD Phenom II X2 560 BE
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> Overclockers Anonymous
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DidoTDI
Pilgrim
Pilgrim


Joined: 16 Apr 2012
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 3:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't have a floppy device on this PC but i can take from the old one (2005 year).I don't know what is it. I don't remember but I thing its not used at all (may be 1,2 times). About the diskette I thing Verbatim is good.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 06 May 2001
Posts: 36700
Location: Netherlands, Breda

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 4:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

go to http://www.bootdisk.com and get the floppy image for bios flashing, make 2 bootable floppies per their instructions and boot the machine from both to see if it works. If it does, add the flash utility and use the first disk to backup the bios, then use another disk with the flash utility and the new bios file to flash the new bios.
_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.



System error, strike any user to continue...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
DidoTDI
Pilgrim
Pilgrim


Joined: 16 Apr 2012
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 4:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok I'll ask you some questions just to make shure I get that right, because I have never done something like that before and english is not my main language.
I need to download (driver free disk for BIOS flashing)?
I make 2 bootable floppies but I use a CD disk or floppy diskette.
And how i get this Flash utility.
May be i should give it to someone that understands this things because I don't feel like I can do this. crying
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 06 May 2001
Posts: 36700
Location: Netherlands, Breda

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 5:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have somebody near you that does know what I am writing about, yes, that may be a good idea.
_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.



System error, strike any user to continue...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
DidoTDI
Pilgrim
Pilgrim


Joined: 16 Apr 2012
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 4:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it shure that the F3B BIOS will do the trick to unlock the cores? Because I thing I read that the BIOS that I need to unlock the cores is deleted from the site. But I am not shure may be this is the right one. And if I unlock the core(s) should I have to up the voltage? (If i should-how I can do it?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 06 May 2001
Posts: 36700
Location: Netherlands, Breda

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2012 12:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Because I thing I read that the BIOS that I need to unlock the cores is deleted from the site.


Where?
_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.



System error, strike any user to continue...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
DidoTDI
Pilgrim
Pilgrim


Joined: 16 Apr 2012
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2012 2:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, it was before 7,8 months I don,t remember. But i think the F3B BIOS will work because I checked the CPU support list and almost every Proccessor is supported with the F3B BIOS not with the F2.(I am with F2). And more interesting is that my CPU is not supported with the F2 but with the F3B BIOS.
Anyway in next few days I will give my PC to one guy who knows how to update BIOS and we will see what happens
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fussnfeathers
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 3124
Location: Right behind you

PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2012 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's not unusual for a newer BIOS to add suppot for more processors. My old P5Q added support for 1333mhz procs. Good luck!
_________________
Faster than the speed of snot

and for the million hours that we were....well I'll smile and remember them all, then I'll turn and go....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
DidoTDI
Pilgrim
Pilgrim


Joined: 16 Apr 2012
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2013 4:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I finally updated my bios to F3b and it runs just fine... BUT it still cant see Core 02 and Core 03. And actually when i enable core unlock the computer wont boot up so i have to turn it off from the power button and when i turn it on again it boots, i get in the bios and it says core unlock enabled but it sees only Core 0 and Core 01. Just to say again the processor is Phenom ii X2 560 BE so even if both of the hidden cores are defective it should at least see them??? May be there is some other option i need to enable/disable i dont know .. hope you guys will know the answer.
Edit : Ohh i just saw the answer in the other thread. Evasive answered .. I wasn't considering that it can be just a normal 2 core...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DidoTDI
Pilgrim
Pilgrim


Joined: 16 Apr 2012
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Mon Sep 02, 2013 7:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

But i read somewhere that there are no 2 cores made at all. There are only 4 and 6 cores and X3,X2 always comes from X4. Is it true???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> Overclockers Anonymous All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group