Bad ethernet?

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Bad ethernet?

Postby OneSpirit » Fri Apr 20, 2012 5:26 pm

My emachine isn't connecting to the net. I do have internet access on my other computer so it not on the provider's end. At first when I could get connected the green light on the ethernet slot didn't come on, this was the first indication there may be a hardware issue, later the amber light no longer was lit, now both lights are out. Bad ethernet? Would I have to use an alternate means of getting access? I while back I got this devicefor my wii which couldn't work, also I couldn't get it to work with XP. I got software with it and loaded it, but still no internet connection. Would I need something like that device to gain internet access again?
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
GIGABYTE GA-H81M-HD3
8Gb DDR3 1333
Gigabyte GTX 660 GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
RAIDmax RX-630SS P/S
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2
4Gb DDR3 1600
GIGABYTE GTX 280
WD SATA 7200RPM
Cooler Master RS-500
WinXP x86
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 774
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Postby Mark H » Fri Apr 20, 2012 6:09 pm

Have you checked in Device Manager for issues with the network card (Red X or exclamation mark)?

Tried a different cable?
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.
Mark H
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1814
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Reading the forums, where else?

Postby Hardware Junkie » Fri Apr 20, 2012 6:41 pm

Possible Issues:
-network Card/network port could be dead
-Bad cable
-bad port on the router/switch/modem
-Disabled network card (if onboard, check BIOS).

Even if you have a driver issue or a software issue, the lights should come on. They stay on with ATX systems even if the system is powered off.

The device you spoke about should get you online. You just need to install drivers for it and it should work. Or get a similar device. I recommend anything by StarTech.
If you have any free PCI slots, you could always just get a regular network card.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Most likely dead

Postby OneSpirit » Sat Apr 21, 2012 10:45 am

Oh I'm terribly sorry ... I should have stated that the device manager shows no problem with the ethernet/network adapter ... it state the device is working properly.

I tried a different cable still no lights ... tried a different port on the router ... nothing. I don't have a network card this is on board. I don't have any spare pci slots so I have to get something like what I showed you. The one I have even with the software it came with will not work with XP for some reason. I'll try again and see if I can get it to work, but I may have to try something similar.

Since there are no lights I would guess the port is dead.
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
GIGABYTE GA-H81M-HD3
8Gb DDR3 1333
Gigabyte GTX 660 GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
RAIDmax RX-630SS P/S
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2
4Gb DDR3 1600
GIGABYTE GTX 280
WD SATA 7200RPM
Cooler Master RS-500
WinXP x86
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 774
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Most Strange

Postby OneSpirit » Sat Apr 21, 2012 3:05 pm

Well sir I installed the driver for the adapter that I gave a link to in the earlier post. I disabled the on board lan. The device manager states the adapter is working properly, but like with the onboard lan ... no lights! :o No internet connection. :roll: I just don't get it ... do any on you? :(
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
GIGABYTE GA-H81M-HD3
8Gb DDR3 1333
Gigabyte GTX 660 GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
RAIDmax RX-630SS P/S
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2
4Gb DDR3 1600
GIGABYTE GTX 280
WD SATA 7200RPM
Cooler Master RS-500
WinXP x86
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 774
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

It works now

Postby OneSpirit » Sat Apr 21, 2012 3:14 pm

Dummy me ... I had the cable disconnected on the router ... now the adapter works :) Back online! :)

Mark this one as problem solved!
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
GIGABYTE GA-H81M-HD3
8Gb DDR3 1333
Gigabyte GTX 660 GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
RAIDmax RX-630SS P/S
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2
4Gb DDR3 1600
GIGABYTE GTX 280
WD SATA 7200RPM
Cooler Master RS-500
WinXP x86
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 774
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Postby fussnfeathers » Sun Apr 22, 2012 1:59 pm

Heh.reminds me of the time I drove 2 hours with parts to hopefully fix a dead PC, only to find the owner had unplugged it to vacuum and forgot to plug the computer back in......
Faster than the speed of snot

and for the million hours that we were....well I'll smile and remember them all, then I'll turn and go....
fussnfeathers
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 3127
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Right behind you

Postby OneSpirit » Sun Apr 22, 2012 3:37 pm

OUCH! :lol: :oops:
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
GIGABYTE GA-H81M-HD3
8Gb DDR3 1333
Gigabyte GTX 660 GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
RAIDmax RX-630SS P/S
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2
4Gb DDR3 1600
GIGABYTE GTX 280
WD SATA 7200RPM
Cooler Master RS-500
WinXP x86
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 774
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Postby evasive » Sun Apr 22, 2012 10:36 pm

how about the cleaning lady turning the dials for brightness/contrast to zero. AND asking the client on the phone to check AND having them refuse so driving there, walking in, checking the dials, finding it is the issue, not saying a word, make them sign the invoice and leave? :twisted:
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 36804
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron