The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Sep 18, 2018 7:48 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Bad ethernet?
PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2012 5:26 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
My emachine isn't connecting to the net. I do have internet access on my other computer so it not on the provider's end. At first when I could get connected the green light on the ethernet slot didn't come on, this was the first indication there may be a hardware issue, later the amber light no longer was lit, now both lights are out. Bad ethernet? Would I have to use an alternate means of getting access? I while back I got this devicefor my wii which couldn't work, also I couldn't get it to work with XP. I got software with it and loaded it, but still no internet connection. Would I need something like that device to gain internet access again?

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2012 6:09 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Posts: 1911
Location: Reading the forums, where else?
Have you checked in Device Manager for issues with the network card (Red X or exclamation mark)?

Tried a different cable?

_________________
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2012 6:41 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
Possible Issues:
-network Card/network port could be dead
-Bad cable
-bad port on the router/switch/modem
-Disabled network card (if onboard, check BIOS).

Even if you have a driver issue or a software issue, the lights should come on. They stay on with ATX systems even if the system is powered off.

The device you spoke about should get you online. You just need to install drivers for it and it should work. Or get a similar device. I recommend anything by StarTech.
If you have any free PCI slots, you could always just get a regular network card.

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Most likely dead
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2012 10:45 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Oh I'm terribly sorry ... I should have stated that the device manager shows no problem with the ethernet/network adapter ... it state the device is working properly.

I tried a different cable still no lights ... tried a different port on the router ... nothing. I don't have a network card this is on board. I don't have any spare pci slots so I have to get something like what I showed you. The one I have even with the software it came with will not work with XP for some reason. I'll try again and see if I can get it to work, but I may have to try something similar.

Since there are no lights I would guess the port is dead.

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Most Strange
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2012 3:05 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Well sir I installed the driver for the adapter that I gave a link to in the earlier post. I disabled the on board lan. The device manager states the adapter is working properly, but like with the onboard lan ... no lights! :o No internet connection. :roll: I just don't get it ... do any on you? :(

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: It works now
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2012 3:14 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Dummy me ... I had the cable disconnected on the router ... now the adapter works :) Back online! :)

Mark this one as problem solved!

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2012 1:59 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Posts: 3147
Location: Right behind you
Heh.reminds me of the time I drove 2 hours with parts to hopefully fix a dead PC, only to find the owner had unplugged it to vacuum and forgot to plug the computer back in......

_________________
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2012 3:37 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
OUCH! :lol: :oops:

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2012 10:36 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
how about the cleaning lady turning the dials for brightness/contrast to zero. AND asking the client on the phone to check AND having them refuse so driving there, walking in, checking the dials, finding it is the issue, not saying a word, make them sign the invoice and leave? :twisted:

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group