The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Mon Sep 24, 2018 7:23 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2012 3:57 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 3:51 pm
Posts: 2
Hello everyone. I just purchased an Asrock H55m-LE motherboard as a replacement for my system. However, after looking at the post by Benjamin Sun on how to overclock a 661 in a H55m-le, I would like to know how to do it. As I increased the clock in increments of 1, I got the BSOD when I reached 145 mhz. Why is that? Other people have mentioned that they can overclock to 4 GHZ or more stable. As Mr. Sun mentioned on his post, he can overclock to 3.93 GHZ stable. Can anyone give me steps to the BIOS to overclock this chip properly? Thank you.

The link to that post is:

http://www.motherboards.org/reviews/mot ... 046_5.html


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2012 10:41 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
What is the brand/model of your memory sticks and your power supply? Both are important factors in a good overclock. You can see DDR3 1600 memory and a 1000W power supply were used for absolute stability and headroom for the overclock. For sure this is overkill but using a no-brand PSU and 1333 memory will limit you in your OC'ing abilities.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2012 10:45 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 3:51 pm
Posts: 2
Sorry, I forgot to mention the PSU name, but thank you for the reply. My power supply is a Corsair Gaming Series 700W, and my memory sticks is a couple of crucial 1333 mhz memory sticks. I was able to overclock with an Intel DH55TC, but I had to RMA it due to a dead PCIe slot. The wattage is enough for a mainstream graphics card and a good CPU cooler.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group