Intel Express Installer crashes computer build(Intel DH67CL)

Get your PC tech problems solved here. Quick response time.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Intel Express Installer crashes computer build(Intel DH67CL)

Postby AVSHDTV » Sun Feb 19, 2012 7:42 am

I just finished building 3 identical budget computers. The first two went without a hitch, but the 3rd computer is screwed up.

Motherboard is an Intel DH67CL with an i5-2300 processor.

Windows loads fine, but when I load the "Intel Express Installer" CD it loads all the drivers, adobe, etc. just fine until it gets to the NetPro (?) drivers. It gets about a third of the way through then goes to black screen and does nothing else.

Once that happens, restarting the computer results in Windows beginning to load and during the pulsating window, it goes black screen and dies. I can still get into safe mode and Windows operates normally there, but it will not boot up in normal mode.

I've reformatted and fresh install of Windows - and utilized one of the other "Intel Express Installer" CDs I had and the results are the same. Also resetting the BIOS didn't help.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.
AVSHDTV
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 7:26 am

Postby evasive » Sun Feb 19, 2012 7:55 am

Use the latest bios:
http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_ ... dType=BIOS

and use the latest version of the LAN drivers, I suspect you found a bug in the set from the CD.
http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_ ... pe=Drivers

Exclude them from installing, use the downloaded set instead.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 36769
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby AVSHDTV » Sun Feb 19, 2012 8:17 am

I'll give that a shot.

But is it likely a bug on the CD if I used the CD from one of the other computers (that worked fine) and it also did the same thing on the 3rd computer?
AVSHDTV
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 7:26 am

Postby evasive » Sun Feb 19, 2012 8:24 am

There's also the possibility of underpowered power supply, bad or incompatible memory stick, bad harddisk and a bad motherboard. Changing one of those would cost money where just using the updated bios/drivers is free.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 36769
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby AVSHDTV » Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:20 am

OK, updated the BIOS and it appears that wasn't the problem. The problem only occurs when updating the drivers with the provided CD.

So I formatted the HDD and reinstalled Windows 7 - then downloaded all the most recent drivers and installed them one at a time. It seems the issue is with the Graphics Media Accelerator drivers. I can load all the other drivers individually:

- Chipset Software Installation Utility
- Intel Management Engine Interface
- Realtek Audio Driver
- USB 3.0 Host Controller Driver Kit
- Net Pro network connection drivers

Everything works fine with those installed and I now have an internet connection. However, as soon as I install the Video drivers, I get the issue I had previously - it gets as far as the pulsating Windows logo at startup and then just dies.

HDD and DVD shouldn't be the problem because I swapped them with others and got the same thing - and these worked fine in other computers.

Thanks again for the quick help.


EDIT> Well crap - I should have canceled out an automatic Windows update that came through because the issue came back after allowing the Windows update.

... turns out the Windows update included the Intel HD Video drivers.
AVSHDTV
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 7:26 am

Postby Mr T » Sun Feb 19, 2012 9:08 pm

Have you swapped out PSU's?
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 16790
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Location: England

Postby AVSHDTV » Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:45 am

Mr T wrote:Have you swapped out PSU's?


Yep.
AVSHDTV
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 7:26 am

Postby Mr T » Mon Feb 20, 2012 10:19 am

Looks like a faulty mainboard... Only way to test that is to swap out with a known working one...
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 16790
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Location: England

Postby AVSHDTV » Tue Feb 21, 2012 6:30 am

Mr T wrote:Looks like a faulty mainboard... Only way to test that is to swap out with a known working one...


I'll find out today. Ordered a new one and returning this one to Amazon.

Hopefully Microsoft won't give me too much hassle using my OEM Windows copy on this new board.
AVSHDTV
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 7:26 am

Postby AVSHDTV » Tue Feb 21, 2012 3:59 pm

New motherboard fixed everything.

Windows loaded fine despite being tied to the original motherboard. Hopefully, it won't be an issue down the road.

Thanks for the fast responses.
AVSHDTV
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 7:26 am

Next

Return to Tech Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron