The Mother Board
Intel Express Installer crashes computer build(Intel DH67CL)
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> Tech Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
AVSHDTV
Pilgrim
Pilgrim


Joined: 19 Feb 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2012 7:42 am    Post subject: Intel Express Installer crashes computer build(Intel DH67CL) Reply with quote

I just finished building 3 identical budget computers. The first two went without a hitch, but the 3rd computer is screwed up.

Motherboard is an Intel DH67CL with an i5-2300 processor.

Windows loads fine, but when I load the "Intel Express Installer" CD it loads all the drivers, adobe, etc. just fine until it gets to the NetPro (?) drivers. It gets about a third of the way through then goes to black screen and does nothing else.

Once that happens, restarting the computer results in Windows beginning to load and during the pulsating window, it goes black screen and dies. I can still get into safe mode and Windows operates normally there, but it will not boot up in normal mode.

I've reformatted and fresh install of Windows - and utilized one of the other "Intel Express Installer" CDs I had and the results are the same. Also resetting the BIOS didn't help.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 06 May 2001
Posts: 36700
Location: Netherlands, Breda

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2012 7:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use the latest bios:
http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?agr=Y&DwnldID=20586&ProdId=3284&lang=eng&OSVersion=%0A&DownloadType=BIOS

and use the latest version of the LAN drivers, I suspect you found a bug in the set from the CD.
http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?agr=Y&DwnldID=20899&ProdId=3284&lang=eng&OSVersion=%0A&DownloadType=Drivers

Exclude them from installing, use the downloaded set instead.
_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.



System error, strike any user to continue...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
AVSHDTV
Pilgrim
Pilgrim


Joined: 19 Feb 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2012 8:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll give that a shot.

But is it likely a bug on the CD if I used the CD from one of the other computers (that worked fine) and it also did the same thing on the 3rd computer?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 06 May 2001
Posts: 36700
Location: Netherlands, Breda

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2012 8:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's also the possibility of underpowered power supply, bad or incompatible memory stick, bad harddisk and a bad motherboard. Changing one of those would cost money where just using the updated bios/drivers is free.
_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.



System error, strike any user to continue...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
AVSHDTV
Pilgrim
Pilgrim


Joined: 19 Feb 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, updated the BIOS and it appears that wasn't the problem. The problem only occurs when updating the drivers with the provided CD.

So I formatted the HDD and reinstalled Windows 7 - then downloaded all the most recent drivers and installed them one at a time. It seems the issue is with the Graphics Media Accelerator drivers. I can load all the other drivers individually:

- Chipset Software Installation Utility
- Intel Management Engine Interface
- Realtek Audio Driver
- USB 3.0 Host Controller Driver Kit
- Net Pro network connection drivers

Everything works fine with those installed and I now have an internet connection. However, as soon as I install the Video drivers, I get the issue I had previously - it gets as far as the pulsating Windows logo at startup and then just dies.

HDD and DVD shouldn't be the problem because I swapped them with others and got the same thing - and these worked fine in other computers.

Thanks again for the quick help.


EDIT> Well crap - I should have canceled out an automatic Windows update that came through because the issue came back after allowing the Windows update.

... turns out the Windows update included the Intel HD Video drivers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master


Joined: 14 Jun 2002
Posts: 16755
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2012 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you swapped out PSU's?
_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AVSHDTV
Pilgrim
Pilgrim


Joined: 19 Feb 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mr T wrote:
Have you swapped out PSU's?


Yep.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master


Joined: 14 Jun 2002
Posts: 16755
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 10:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like a faulty mainboard... Only way to test that is to swap out with a known working one...
_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AVSHDTV
Pilgrim
Pilgrim


Joined: 19 Feb 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2012 6:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mr T wrote:
Looks like a faulty mainboard... Only way to test that is to swap out with a known working one...


I'll find out today. Ordered a new one and returning this one to Amazon.

Hopefully Microsoft won't give me too much hassle using my OEM Windows copy on this new board.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AVSHDTV
Pilgrim
Pilgrim


Joined: 19 Feb 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2012 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

New motherboard fixed everything.

Windows loaded fine despite being tied to the original motherboard. Hopefully, it won't be an issue down the road.

Thanks for the fast responses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> Tech Support All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group