The Mother Board
Can I Transfer My OS From One HHD To Another?
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> Operating Systems
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 3450
Location: Washington D.C.

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i am pretty sure you'd have to get an add-in IDE controller card to run that drive. i don't think there's an onboard IDE controller.

i guess you could try getting the IDE card, install it on your current system, load the drivers for the card, put your IDE system drive on the card and use it to boot the system. then transplant both the card and the ide system drive to the new motherboard, and see if you can get it to boot. but there's still the fact you are changing mobo's, that it puts successful boot on the new system at unlikely status... but maybe a possibility.

not sure if risk/reward is worth it.
_________________
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
seagate 500GB 32M cache
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 12 Nov 2003
Posts: 19020
Location: 07438

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The IDE port on modern mobos is not commonly found. While there are adapters to mate an IDE drive to a SATA port, a better route would be the external USB enclosure from NewEgg.
With 2.5" drives, the USB port would provide required voltages and current. But with the 3.5" drives, you need an AC adapter to power them. And provide adequate cooling of the internals!
_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt


Joined: 25 Feb 2002
Posts: 753
Location: The Great State of Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your input guys ... probably saving me a lot of trouble when it's time to do the update.

Now the new motherboad has a PCI slot and I was planning on using this PCI IDE card

I take it the new mobo isn't going to like the old hard drive or the data on it? Why do they make an upgrade so difficult with the hardware and software I already have? PDT_Armataz_01_02
_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
GIGABYTE GA-H81M-HD3
8Gb DDR3 1333
Gigabyte GTX 660 GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
RAIDmax RX-630SS P/S
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2
4Gb DDR3 1600
GIGABYTE GTX 280
WD SATA 7200RPM
Cooler Master RS-500
WinXP x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 3450
Location: Washington D.C.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OneSpirit wrote:
Why do they make an upgrade so difficult with the hardware and software I already have? PDT_Armataz_01_02


just the nature of the beast, i guess.
_________________
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
seagate 500GB 32M cache
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 12 Nov 2003
Posts: 19020
Location: 07438

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The cause of an OS going "belly up" when put into a different machine is protection from fraud and piracy. It was reported that for every legit copy of Win 95 sold, three counterfeit issues were found!! Still a big piracy problem, even with Win XP and Win 7, and most of the premium software lines.
With major changes in chipset type, you are obligated to do a complete reinstall and re-register the OS. If the chipset models are close enough, you may be lucky with just a driver "update". Cloning the install to a larger hard drive, or add more memory, and the OS is very happy.
_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt


Joined: 25 Feb 2002
Posts: 753
Location: The Great State of Ohio

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 2:48 pm    Post subject: Dang Reply with quote

Oh so ... don't want any fraudulent copies eh? Funny how the corporations hated it when they get cheated by consumers but love it when they can screw the people. Well sir corporate control strike again. I have to do all those upgrades all over again cause of M$. Sounds like a racket to me.

I had to order a new sata hard drive so I can do a clean install and keep my old data on the IDE drive. After this I will have more hard drive space than I will ever need.

This has turned into a rebuild rather than an upgrade. Neutral
_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
GIGABYTE GA-H81M-HD3
8Gb DDR3 1333
Gigabyte GTX 660 GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
RAIDmax RX-630SS P/S
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2
4Gb DDR3 1600
GIGABYTE GTX 280
WD SATA 7200RPM
Cooler Master RS-500
WinXP x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 06 May 2001
Posts: 36700
Location: Netherlands, Breda

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 5:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

These days when you are not chaning your components all the time you will find that an upgrade usually results in a full rebuild because of the pace at which things are changing.

Quote:
After this I will have more hard drive space than I will ever need.


Trust me, you or the software manufacturers will find a way to fill that up sooner than you think lol
_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.



System error, strike any user to continue...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
fussnfeathers
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 3124
Location: Right behind you

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2012 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no dobt there. I have 5 2TB drive, and my pro audio one is pretty near full, along with the scratch drive for raw tracks.
_________________
Faster than the speed of snot

and for the million hours that we were....well I'll smile and remember them all, then I'll turn and go....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> Operating Systems All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group