The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Mon Aug 20, 2018 3:02 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 11:28 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 2:46 pm
Posts: 74
Location: Woodstock ,NY (ugly Hippie Has Been Town!!!)
:roll: Here we go again ,I must be nuts!!!!!!! Looking at Legacy nerd stuff to annoy my self,,,,,,


While perusing my favorite used computer/electronic store the other day,

I stumbled upon a HUGE serVer Mobo.



It is a DELL , Has 4 (count ,em ) Pentium 3 XEON Processors & a Xlink Chip& a Large socket <very much UNLIKE simms or Sdram> for memory module.

And 2 80 pin scsi sockets & 6 pci slots{best to memory }.


The pn is ??? DELL -DP/N D53XH T-20400 _ 081 _ 083HV c/o us

THE H I listed is Very Possibly a W <it looks like a Chinese version of W>.



Any help with this thing would be great ,



Regards ,Stu

_________________
"If There was any Economic Justice In this United States We live In , We would All Be Driving Hummers & Eldorados & Magnums and Gasolene would be 10 Cents A gallon !!!"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 10:57 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
Dell PowerEdge 6300 board?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Dell-PowerEdge- ... 0244949758

Dell PowerEdge 6400 board?
http://www.palmtechnology.co.uk/store/d ... 1c538.html

Got picture?

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: HUGE Motherboard !!!
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 1:40 pm 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 2:46 pm
Posts: 74
Location: Woodstock ,NY (ugly Hippie Has Been Town!!!)
:) 8) Hello again >back to this wonderfull techsite of computer trivia.


I don,t have the picture (never brought my camera into shop).


But it appears to be the POWEREDGE 6400.



What could I use this thing for!!???

besides a server??????


regards , stu

_________________
"If There was any Economic Justice In this United States We live In , We would All Be Driving Hummers & Eldorados & Magnums and Gasolene would be 10 Cents A gallon !!!"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 2:26 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 2740
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin
well...it's a server board, so it's pretty much intended to be a server.

you could run what you want on it - but it's simply going to operate most efficiently as a server.

-Roach

_________________
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Big ole,mobo-Server
PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2011 12:22 pm 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 2:46 pm
Posts: 74
Location: Woodstock ,NY (ugly Hippie Has Been Town!!!)
Roach412 wrote:
well...it's a server board, so it's pretty much intended to be a server.

you could run what you want on it - but it's simply going to operate most efficiently as a server.

-Roach
:wink:


Hmmm, I was thinking of a desktop system thats durable ,tired of cheesy celeron grade equipment.

Althought my electric bill will be SkY-High with a big server board,,, Hmmm.

adios ,Stu

_________________
"If There was any Economic Justice In this United States We live In , We would All Be Driving Hummers & Eldorados & Magnums and Gasolene would be 10 Cents A gallon !!!"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 3:40 pm 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14299
Location: Maine
I do not believe there are too many windows OS's that would run on such a system without hiccups of some sort or another.. Linux might be a bit more compatible but you might run into the same issue(s) with certain versions..

Certain OS'es are simply not designed for server environments and thus are not compatible with chipsets, etc.

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2011 6:42 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
I would probably install Linux or Windows Server 2000 (supports 4 cpus), perhaps 2003.
Anything else would be too much for it.

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group