The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Thu Sep 20, 2018 1:27 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:21 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 11:56 am
Posts: 12
I tried to flash my Bios with BF86510A.15A.0066.P13 as Pbailey recommended.
I did installed Windows7 and if I try to run:C:\CABS\9527776\Update.bat
the system Didn't find the file. I did look in the 9527776 directory and found this bat file :BF865_P13_BIOS_upd.bat. However if I try to run it, same story the system don't find the needed file.
I tried to run from Dos with a ms-dos win98 formated floppy disk
using the provided Iflash.exe utility.
First it seem to work properly until a message say that the bios image is loaded and ready to be flashed to the bios , "please take the floppy disk out and press continue".
Well the system shoot down and reboot in windows7 and no flashing is done.
What is wrong.
My actual BIOS is BF86510A.15A.0043.p07. Mother board : DG865GLC/D865 PE 50.
Gateway told me to use the version BIOS_Intel_AG91510J.15A.0816. But i don't believe they know what right is .
What is wrong do I do something wrong ?

MK


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:32 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
Gateway needs to get their head out of their behind and actually start doing something about their sh*tty support pages.

You are trying to do it right but with the wrong file. I'll have a go at digging the proper bios update from Gateway/eMachines (ever since the merger the support if going far worse).

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:57 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
This one is the latest I can find:
http://support.gateway.com/us/en/produc ... er=1008378

Check under the BIOS tab. Download the zip-file, unpack it, execute the .exe in the unpacked folder. Make sure you run the utility with administrator rights (right-click, run as Administrator). It will start the Intel express bios update and you should be able to flash the bios with this.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 7:39 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 11:56 am
Posts: 12
Thanks for the link.
I hope this time it will work.
keep you posted.
MK


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 7:48 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
Yep, keep us posted and if anything not going to plan, just ask.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Bios update
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 8:58 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 11:56 am
Posts: 12
I did follow your recommended steps but without success.
I also tried to do the dos way.
same result the flashing doesn't occur.No message, nothing !
In the beginning of my bios update journey i received couple time the
message :" this system does not support flash memory".
Could really be the reason why it doesn't work?
How can I check if it does or not.
From the hardware site I do not have see anything looking like the chip as Intel description.
Any recommendation? but please no Gateway phone support.
MK


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 7:41 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
Can you upload a picture of the actual board in question? What Gateway system is this, so at least I know if this is the right file we are trying to flash. Can be the wrong one is already on your board right now.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 6:05 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20859
Location: 07438
Is there a jumper on the mobo, or a BIOS page option to disallow the flash update process?

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 8:43 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 11:56 am
Posts: 12
I don't see any jumper and i'm wondering.
The board is an Intel D865GLC/D865 PE 50. The Computer is a Gateway 500XL. The BIOS : BF86510A.15A.0043.P07.
Every time I did try to flash the bios same result. Nothing !
The reason why I did try to flash the BIOS is did install WINDOWS 7
everything is working fine except I I hibernate the PS stay on the Keyboard LED and the Wireless Mouse still on.
By shutting down with the software button on Windows the system don't goes the full mile. I need to push the Hardware switch to finalize the shut down.
Of course by reboot the system give me the menu with safe and normal booting.
With Windows XP professional everything was fine.
I contacted MS but they could not help me with the remote access.
This is my dilemma.
Any Idea ?

MK


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 10:59 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 11:56 am
Posts: 12
I found on line a Intel D865 mobo manual in UK.
It describe my board exactly.
I found the Bios jumper configuration, but it is in the correct position : [normal], configure, recovery.
I still don't know why in Ms-dos mode the flashing don't append.
Has anything to do that by shutting down the system after the image is loaded, because the system don't restart it self, I need to push the power button?
It drive me nuts!
the BIOS number what is important to find the right one?
Of course the mobo type: BF86510A
In my case BF86510a.15a.0043.P07
What does the 15A?
I suppose the 0043 is the release Number
And What is P07?


MK


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group