Gateway/IntelD865GLC or BF86510A.15A.0043.P07

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Gateway/IntelD865GLC or BF86510A.15A.0043.P07

Postby leheremite » Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:21 pm

I tried to flash my Bios with BF86510A.15A.0066.P13 as Pbailey recommended.
I did installed Windows7 and if I try to run:C:\CABS\9527776\Update.bat
the system Didn't find the file. I did look in the 9527776 directory and found this bat file :BF865_P13_BIOS_upd.bat. However if I try to run it, same story the system don't find the needed file.
I tried to run from Dos with a ms-dos win98 formated floppy disk
using the provided Iflash.exe utility.
First it seem to work properly until a message say that the bios image is loaded and ready to be flashed to the bios , "please take the floppy disk out and press continue".
Well the system shoot down and reboot in windows7 and no flashing is done.
What is wrong.
My actual BIOS is BF86510A.15A.0043.p07. Mother board : DG865GLC/D865 PE 50.
Gateway told me to use the version BIOS_Intel_AG91510J.15A.0816. But i don't believe they know what right is .
What is wrong do I do something wrong ?

MK
leheremite
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 11:56 am

Postby evasive » Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:32 pm

Gateway needs to get their head out of their behind and actually start doing something about their sh*tty support pages.

You are trying to do it right but with the wrong file. I'll have a go at digging the proper bios update from Gateway/eMachines (ever since the merger the support if going far worse).
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby evasive » Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:57 pm

This one is the latest I can find:
http://support.gateway.com/us/en/produc ... er=1008378

Check under the BIOS tab. Download the zip-file, unpack it, execute the .exe in the unpacked folder. Make sure you run the utility with administrator rights (right-click, run as Administrator). It will start the Intel express bios update and you should be able to flash the bios with this.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

bios update Gateway/Intel

Postby leheremite » Wed Aug 03, 2011 7:39 am

Thanks for the link.
I hope this time it will work.
keep you posted.
MK
leheremite
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 11:56 am

Postby evasive » Wed Aug 03, 2011 7:48 am

Yep, keep us posted and if anything not going to plan, just ask.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Bios update

Postby leheremite » Wed Aug 03, 2011 8:58 am

I did follow your recommended steps but without success.
I also tried to do the dos way.
same result the flashing doesn't occur.No message, nothing !
In the beginning of my bios update journey i received couple time the
message :" this system does not support flash memory".
Could really be the reason why it doesn't work?
How can I check if it does or not.
From the hardware site I do not have see anything looking like the chip as Intel description.
Any recommendation? but please no Gateway phone support.
MK
leheremite
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 11:56 am

Postby evasive » Wed Aug 03, 2011 7:41 pm

Can you upload a picture of the actual board in question? What Gateway system is this, so at least I know if this is the right file we are trying to flash. Can be the wrong one is already on your board right now.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Karlsweldt » Thu Aug 04, 2011 6:05 am

Is there a jumper on the mobo, or a BIOS page option to disallow the flash update process?
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20659
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby leheremite » Thu Aug 04, 2011 8:43 am

I don't see any jumper and i'm wondering.
The board is an Intel D865GLC/D865 PE 50. The Computer is a Gateway 500XL. The BIOS : BF86510A.15A.0043.P07.
Every time I did try to flash the bios same result. Nothing !
The reason why I did try to flash the BIOS is did install WINDOWS 7
everything is working fine except I I hibernate the PS stay on the Keyboard LED and the Wireless Mouse still on.
By shutting down with the software button on Windows the system don't goes the full mile. I need to push the Hardware switch to finalize the shut down.
Of course by reboot the system give me the menu with safe and normal booting.
With Windows XP professional everything was fine.
I contacted MS but they could not help me with the remote access.
This is my dilemma.
Any Idea ?

MK
leheremite
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 11:56 am

Postby leheremite » Thu Aug 04, 2011 10:59 am

I found on line a Intel D865 mobo manual in UK.
It describe my board exactly.
I found the Bios jumper configuration, but it is in the correct position : [normal], configure, recovery.
I still don't know why in Ms-dos mode the flashing don't append.
Has anything to do that by shutting down the system after the image is loaded, because the system don't restart it self, I need to push the power button?
It drive me nuts!
the BIOS number what is important to find the right one?
Of course the mobo type: BF86510A
In my case BF86510a.15a.0043.P07
What does the 15A?
I suppose the 0043 is the release Number
And What is P07?


MK
leheremite
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 11:56 am

Next

Return to BIOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron