Why are Core Value at -2% under ACC and What do they do?

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Why are Core Value at -2% under ACC and What do they do?

Postby sircapo » Sat Jul 02, 2011 3:03 pm

I use a Gigabyte Mobo and I see Core Values as negative 2 under ACC(Advanced Calibration Control). Would anyone explain what these values represent and what happens when I make changes to them?

Thank you all.
sircapo
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 8:19 pm

Postby Hardware Junkie » Sun Jul 03, 2011 10:55 am

What motherboard are we talking about? And check your bios revision from the boot screen if possible.

Its possible something is not being detected correctly - might be solved by a BIOS update.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby sircapo » Sun Jul 03, 2011 1:39 pm

I guess I should've provided more info.... sorry. Here is my spec:

Gigabyte GA-MA770-UD3 FJ Mobo with latest revision for Socket AM3
AMD Athlon II X3 445 running as Phenom II X4 B45 @ stock speed of 3100 Mhz
4 Gig of G. Skill DDRII SDRAM 800
2 Gig of Corsair DDRII SDRAM 800
XFX ATI HD4850 Video Card w/1 gig RAM
Rosewill 550W PS
etc..etc...

My mobo has the latest BIOS from Gigabyte to be able to run Socket AM3 where this mobo was essentially a Socket AM2 board.

I am aware that my OC chance is pretty much limited due to my RAMS but I think I can still get a decent OC with what I have. I had it running at 3700 mhz for a while before it got unstable.

But I just cant figure out what these values represent under ACC Core Value % and why they are set at -2% for all 4 Cores right now. Any advise on how to tweek these values would be appreciated.

Happy 4th of July!
sircapo
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 8:19 pm

Postby sircapo » Thu Jul 07, 2011 6:53 am

Let's give it a bump... 8)
sircapo
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 8:19 pm

Postby Toby B. » Thu Jul 07, 2011 7:45 am

The principle of ACC is not publicly discussed by AMD but some third-party vendors, including ASUS (Core Unlocker)[44] and Biostar (BIO-unlocKING)[45] have had it for some time. Gigabyte has added this feature, called CPU Core Control, to many NB785/SB710 boards via BIOS update


As near as I can tell the board you have, has an AMD 770 + SB710 Chipset
Toby B.
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14277
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Maine

Postby sircapo » Tue Jul 12, 2011 4:21 am

Yup, that's what I have in my mobo. I am going to play with it a little and increase the core values to 0% from -2% and see what happens. I guess I should set everything else to its default values before I do this.. just in case.

Let me know if anyone has any experience with adjusting these values.
sircapo
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 8:19 pm

Postby Hardware Junkie » Sat Jul 16, 2011 8:52 am

I don't have a lot of experience with this but if I had to make an educated guess based on the info you provided, it sounds like this setting is accommodating the fact that your board was originally designed for AM2s.
The update allowed the processors to run, but the values have to be set at the defaults for the most stable run.
It might not even be using your CPU to full potential, but its the best it can do without being unstable.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh


Return to BIOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron