Intel E139761

The place to post if you are having trouble identifying your motherboard.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Intel E139761

Postby AmEv » Tue Jan 25, 2011 4:46 pm

Post 600.
Wanted it to be somewhat big.
Didn't expect something LITERALLY big.


Anyway, my IT teacher gave me a dual slot 1 motherboard. Couldn't get an OS to install, so he gave it to me.

4*PCI.
2*Slot 1, with PIII550s in them
2*ISA
0*AGP

# on what I think is NB:
SB82558B
L012ID84
SL2P4
(M)(C)1996


Let me know if more info is needed.

I wouldn't be surprised if Evasive is first to reply lol.
I'm gonna get my new hardware. And my worklog here.
AmEv
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 654
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 4:53 pm
Location: Wanting to be at these forums, but not as active as they

Postby Toby B. » Tue Jan 25, 2011 10:57 pm

If its a true intel board there should be a part number in AA xxxxx-xxx format...

If you got a pic avialible post it online and link to it here or mail it to t_bibeau@yahoo.com
Toby B.
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14277
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Maine

Postby Toby B. » Tue Jan 25, 2011 10:57 pm

That chip btw is a network chip or something like that.
Toby B.
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14277
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Maine

Postby evasive » Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:58 am

Yeah, let's shoot in the dark and say Intel N440BX

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Product ... ductID=311

Image
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Toby B. » Wed Jan 26, 2011 1:36 am

Yeah I found that one too via google but just having the Exxxx number is like trying to find a needle in a haystack...
Toby B.
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14277
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Maine

Postby evasive » Wed Jan 26, 2011 1:43 am

It is big, dual slot1 with the right number of ISA/PCI and the right network chip. Not many contenders there...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Karlsweldt » Wed Jan 26, 2011 1:38 pm

Something like this eBay listing? A lot of those server motherboards with dual processors had SEPARATE memory banks for each CPU.. and you may need to populate all banks with identical memory. If DIMM slots, then look for PC-100 or PC-133 type memory that is ECC or buffered. Non-buffered memory may not work! Same if the memory slots are the older 72-pin SIMM type.
Additionally, both CPUs may use only one master clock for the FSB. Ensure that both SEPP CPUs are identical. There also may be a separate 6-pin power connector for 3.3 volts from the PSU.
One other note.. if being a 1996 vintage, the hard drive capacity may be limited to less than 10 GB recognition in the BIOS!
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20660
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby AmEv » Wed Jan 26, 2011 3:30 pm

Yep. Karl and E are right.

Spot on.


I already have 2*500 PIIIs, and 4*256MB Crucial PC100 ECCs.




Thanks again, MoBo.O staff!
I'm gonna get my new hardware. And my worklog here.
AmEv
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 654
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 4:53 pm
Location: Wanting to be at these forums, but not as active as they

Postby evasive » Thu Jan 27, 2011 2:51 am

Karlsweldt wrote:One other note.. if being a 1996 vintage, the hard drive capacity may be limited to less than 10 GB recognition in the BIOS!


For IDE/PATA disks maybe. Given this is a server board, SCSI is a better choice, especially since it has onboard Ultra SCSI...

@AmEv: be careful with bios updates and check if the memory is indeed on the compatibility list for this board, it is very finicky with memory...

Ah those were the days, the Intel Nightshade board...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby AmEv » Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:05 am

Info: When my teacher gave it to me, he had a 160GB IDE, a 10GB IDE, and a 9GB SCSI in the case all were in.
Good news: I installed Ubuntu 10.04 successfully on the 9GB.
Great news: BIOS and Ubuntu see the 160BGB and successfully mount it.
Excellent news: Our family now has a file server with 1GB RAM!


F@H to come.
I'm gonna get my new hardware. And my worklog here.
AmEv
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 654
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 4:53 pm
Location: Wanting to be at these forums, but not as active as they

Next

Return to Motherboard Identification Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Lindex [Bot] and 3 guests

cron