The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Dec 11, 2018 1:24 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Java Compiler
PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:09 pm 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 3:36 pm
Posts: 354
Location: Moscow, ID
Hello all. This is an extremely basic question but here is what I would like to do:

I have a java source code file: Javatest.java

I want to be able to compile it, and attempt to run it, ie: javac Javatest.java
followed by java Javatest

Do I use command prompt for this? Every time I try and compile the test code, It says the command is not found. And I've downloaded the developer kit from Sun Microsystems, and JRE as well (current versions). How can I get this to work? I know this is a really basic question but I hope someone on the forum can help me out!

Thanks so much mobo.org! Always helpful!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:08 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
do you have Java installed?
http://www.java.com/en/download/help/testvm.xml

java programming:
http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/topic ... index.html

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 2:28 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 2744
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin
you would need to make sure that you have your PATH set, it sounds like you're trying to run JAVA commands where they don't reside.

check out this rundown:
http://www.apl.jhu.edu/~hall/java/begin ... ingup.html

Quote:
If you don't set the PATH variable, you need to specify the full path to the executable every time you run it


-Roach

_________________
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:34 pm 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 3:36 pm
Posts: 354
Location: Moscow, ID
Thank you for all of the help! I actually figured it out earlier today after checking out the links that evasive posted that I need to set the PATH correctly to the JDK folder. After that it worked like a charm. Again Mobo.org to the rescue, thank you evasive and Roach. I greatly appreciate your help.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group