You may wanna edit somethings though.
6 turn off system restore - they can hide in there. (start....my computer......view system information.......system restore tab)
They don't actually 'hide' in there its more or less advised to delete the restore points after an infection because you dont wanna restore to a dirty restore point at a later time.
Now sometimes an AV scanner will find a virus in a restore point but can't delete it because access is restricted.
This is the only time you should knowingly turn off system restore which will automatically delete the old restore points and said virus, but again only do this if you know the current system is clean.
Here's a quote from tomcoyote forums
Do NOT start your fix by disabling System Restore. This rule applies to any manual fixes and is especially true for spyware removal. That is because disabling System Restore wipes out all restore points. Should a problem arise during the fix you would have NO good working configuration to go back to get the computer up and running.
Even if you have to start over removing infections, this is preferable to a dead PC thanks to having System Restore turned off. Clean the restore folder and set a new point AFTER the PC is clean and all programs are working properly.
I don't know of any virus that installs itself there just gets a copy of it put there by windows.