The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Sep 18, 2018 9:31 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:54 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 5491
Location: Flintshire, U.K
Does anyone here have multiple laptops running wireless connections? We just bought a Netbook which when connected to the Internet causes other wireless devices to sporadically drop their connections as well as dropping its own connection. We have 3 laptops, one netbook and 2 wireless printers at home, a total of 6 devices, is this too many or should I look at another reason for these seemingly random disconnections?

BTW, the printers never drop the connection and neither does one of the laptops. They are all pretty close to the router and all the IP's that the router supplies are O.K. I've gone into the Device Managers and turned off the power saving option for the adapter. In quick experiment I wired one of the laptops into a hub and that made the situation better, but not perfect. Wireless overload??

Thanks,

Pete

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 8:14 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
brnad/model of the wireless stuff (router, cards) you are using? what channels are in use nearby? what channel are you using? what signal strength readings do you get?

wireless can be hairtearing sometimes, so many variables at hand....

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 3:56 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 1970
Location: UK / Singapore
Have you checked your router logs, sometimes that can point to a problem.

Malware/crapware on the netbook could be flooding the network with traffic causing it to drop all the clients - as it is new I guess this is unlikely.

When I have had low SnR I have had strange things happen like one wireless client negotiating a low bit-rate which then makes the other clients freak out and lose connection. Forcing the router to run single rather than mixed network mode has helped a bit with this sort of thing.

I run an old Linksys router with freeware Linux installed on it - solves a lot of problems. At the moment I am using a stock Virgin router and the Linksys as a repeater/bridge so I have good SnR through the whole house.

_________________
I have now left the Building :tongue8:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 8:43 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 5491
Location: Flintshire, U.K
Twisty wrote:
Malware/crapware on the netbook could be flooding the network with traffic causing it to drop all the clients - as it is new I guess this is unlikely.


That'll be it...not malware but a project I run that is constantly accessing the internet. I can hard wire in another one of my laptops that I only use now and again that should improve things a bit.

Cheers,

Pete

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 9:15 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 1970
Location: UK / Singapore
Good you seem to have a solution.

I always found that routers marketed for home use are very buggy and fall over easily (most bad experiences with Netgear) - mostly they just seem to run out of memory and causing the process to fail. I am out of date on routers, not changed my setup for some years, maybe things have changed.

Once I got a Linksys WRT54GS and flashed DDWRT onto it I found it takes anything I throw at it and never looked back - the web interface even gives me graphs on how much of the routers resources (e.g. bandwidth / ram ) I am using.

_________________
I have now left the Building :tongue8:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 11:08 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
sitecom that falls over when I do ftp uploads... wired, mind you. I fear I will have to replace that POS then...

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group