@(&*(#&$^&*(^!@%!#!!! Adobe

This is the place where all heated debates shall reside. Non-tech topics allowed. Personal attacks will not be tolerated. "Enter at your own Risk".

Moderator: The Mod Squad

@(&*(#&$^&*(^!@%!#!!! Adobe

Postby evasive » Thu Aug 12, 2010 12:28 am

[rant on]

I have completely had it with the stupid bunch of @holes at Adobe, their cr@ppy installers, their giant security holes, the vendor lock-in, the licensing sheit, the bloatware, the integration of umpteen things I will never use and their idiotic POC of Flash [rant off]
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby fussnfeathers » Thu Aug 12, 2010 2:53 am

So, how do you really feel?

TBH, I haven't had any problems, at least that weren't on the developer end of things. They can't kill it quite yet, I start college courses in Flash development in three weeks. PDT_Armataz_01_02
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night
fussnfeathers
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 3147
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Right behind you

Postby Roach412 » Thu Aug 12, 2010 7:01 am

i enjoyed developing in flash - can do some pretty cool stuff in it. not difficult either to just make things work. some advanced techniques are definitely "advanced" and you could teach entire courses about them.

-Roach
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Roach412
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2717
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin

Postby evasive » Thu Aug 12, 2010 8:48 am

Flash was developed before Adobe got its claws on the product it's the @(*$^&^$%# installers of them that drive me beserk...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Roach412 » Thu Aug 12, 2010 9:52 am

i can say i would agree - i was disappointed when i saw adobe was taking over macromedia. =(

-Roach
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Roach412
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2717
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin

Postby fussnfeathers » Thu Aug 12, 2010 11:53 am

To be fair, they've done a better job of it than I thought they would. If anything, they're moving too fast. I can't think of anything that requires a full version upgrade every couple of weeks.

I think I still have Macromedia Studio here somewhere........forget what version. 8, I think. Maybe 7.
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night
fussnfeathers
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 3147
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Right behind you

Postby Hardware Junkie » Thu Aug 12, 2010 3:18 pm

yeah I think their online licensing registration thing is bullsh*t. Its a pain in the @ss when trying to move applications from one system to another.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby evasive » Fri Aug 13, 2010 4:40 am

Macromedia up to version 7, after that they gets fancy versions like "MX 2004"

<rant>
Another f*ckup, their uninstaller skips things. So _again_ have to check/uninstall by hand or make custom kill-script for all versions they ever thought of.

I guess I am lucky we are in a transition from XP SP1/SP2 to SP3 because it means the workstations get a fresh OS image and a working set of apps/plugins.

Still Adobe need to get their heads out of their behinds and _FIX_ things instead of bloating their stuff. My firefox with 3 sessions and 15 tabs open uses 1gigabyte of memory for the plugin-container.exe i.e. flash. Morons...

</rant>
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby fussnfeathers » Fri Aug 13, 2010 9:32 am

Given how fast Flash runs on Chrome, and how little resources it uses for that browser...........whaddaya think? 95% of development for Google? Android's getting Flash before everyone else as well on the smartphone front. Ka-ching.
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night
fussnfeathers
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 3147
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Right behind you

Postby AmEv » Wed Feb 23, 2011 9:49 am

Then again, Apple is actively saying "no" to Flash.
I'm gonna get my new hardware. And my worklog here.
AmEv
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 654
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 4:53 pm
Location: Wanting to be at these forums, but not as active as they

Next

Return to The Hundred Year War

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest