The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Mon Nov 19, 2018 1:38 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Is the cat6 worth?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:30 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 7:17 pm
Posts: 1
Hey guys have an electrician coming into my house tomorrow to do the wiring he is charging $49.95 for cat6. He said the cable is UL rated and up to 1Gbps transfer rates. Is the cat6 worth? Would I need cat6 with hight speeds?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 1:25 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
If you have gigabit router and gigabit network cards you actually need cat6. how big is the price difference with cat5 or cat5e?

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2010 9:06 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2002 12:00 am
Posts: 1174
Location: KC MO
This is true! If you have Gig switch/router and card in your setup.

evasive wrote:
If you have gigabit router and gigabit network cards you actually need cat6. how big is the price difference with cat5 or cat5e?

_________________
The day you stop learning, is the day you die!

Paul


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 7:23 am 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Posts: 3671
Location: Washington D.C.
cat5e does fine for gigabit speeds.
typically 50 feet of cat5e costs under 10 bucks, and that is with connectors on both ends. cat6 is about the same (still under $10).
as a spool and no connectors, it should be even cheaper.
the guy is prolly giving a good break on normal price if he wants to get rid of old cat5 cable.
you want cat5e or cat6 though.

_________________
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD FX-6300 Vishera CPU
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
Samsung 840 EVo SSD 120 GB
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 10:53 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 2743
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin
i thought it's been proven that even cat5 (not even cat5e) can handle gigabit speeds...? this is going back to my early college/late high school years, but i was pretty sure the cat5e specification was just released around the time and the cat6 specification was still in-progress, but cat5 was capable.

a quick check on wikipedia gleans the following:
Quote:
It is most commonly used for 100 Mbit/s networks, such as 100BASE-TX Ethernet, although IEEE 802.3ab defines standards for 1000BASE-T – Gigabit Ethernet over category 5 cable

Quote:
Half-duplex gigabit links connected through hubs are allowed by the specification but in the marketplace full-duplex with switches are normal

Quote:
IEEE 802.3ab, ratified in 1999, defines gigabit Ethernet transmission over unshielded twisted pair (UTP) category 5, 5e, or 6 cabling and became known as 1000BASE-T. With the ratification of 802.3ab, gigabit Ethernet became a desktop technology as organizations could use their existing copper cabling infrastructure.


-Roach

_________________
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 11:02 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2002 12:00 am
Posts: 1174
Location: KC MO
You have many IF factors with this 5,5e and 6.

I have just learned that when it comes to installing a gigabit network to use Solid cat 6 cable for the perminent and stranded 6 for the patch will work everytime.

You can take a chance on 5 and 5e. I would not!

You are at the mercy of whoever installed it.


I agree with "Roach412"

_________________
The day you stop learning, is the day you die!

Paul


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 12:28 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 2743
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin
i'm by no means advocating that you SHOULD use cat5...but, if they're not long runs, and you aren't running them next to sources of interference, it should work.

if they're going to wire you're whole house for 50 bucks, then i'd have them do it. to have somebody wire anything for anything more than 30 minutes will cost you at least 50 bucks. i'm thinking there's more to that price than meets the eye. i would expect an electrician to charge 50/room perhaps, plus incidentals.

if you were to do it yourself i'd expect you to use (depending on house/run size/# rooms) anywhere from 200-500ft of cable, 2 ends per run, hopefully a wall jack for each room. cable and ends would probably only run you 20-30, jacks aren't expensive either. you could get all the materials for less than 50, but it's going to take time...so, it's all about what you value your time at. probably an hour per run - might be able to consolidate a few runs together at the same time...and you'd be bound to get better/quicker on each subsequent run. either way, plan for a 1/2 day or full day to get the basics completed.

-Roach

_________________
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 3:32 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Posts: 3147
Location: Right behind you
Roach412 wrote:
i would expect an electrician to charge 50/room perhaps, plus incidentals.


-Roach


It's a bit more here, but the vast majority of houses in the area are old. There's no way of telling what's behind that plaster, lath, and layers of wallpaper. Newer houses here are generally wired for networking as part of the electrical installation. The old joints here just don't follow any standard (like installing the handicap grab rail in my shower.....two studs are 18" on center, the next one is 12", the fourth 15", and the last 10"........talk about a nightmare. I had to use heavy duty toggle bolts for one end of the bar).

_________________
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2010 2:24 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
Cat 5e should be more than adequate for high data speeds.. it is used on Gigabit LAN lines. The only caution with any type of network cable is when run next to high-current power lines or other unshielded data lines. In such cases go with "plenum" rated network cable. It is fully shielded. Maximum run for any network cable is about 100 feet. Beyond that, Ethernet cable is preferred, with in-line repeater/amplifiers.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2010 3:13 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Posts: 3147
Location: Right behind you
I'd go with cat6 in any case. Given that it's somewhat future-proofed, designed to replace cat5, it'd be your best bet in an in-wall design.

_________________
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group