Olivetti M480-30 BIOS

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Olivetti M480-30 BIOS

Postby Retrocomputer » Sun Jul 25, 2010 2:51 pm

Hi everyone!
I'm Davide Fabrici (call me David...) from Italy. I'm 15 (16 on the 04th November). Please forgive me for my bad English (you'll say if I got actually a bad one... ) :D
But let's go straight to my problem.
I've got a very old Olivetti M480-30 (ext. 1989/1990) in which I can't enter in the BIOS.
System Specs:
MoBo: BA 865 or BA 952
CPU: Intel i486 DX @ 25 mHz;
Bios: Olivetti proprietary (seems so...)
Version: unknown...
So, can somebody help me? What should I do to enter the BIOS?
The system is working, but the PC won't recognize the HDD.
Take a look on what the PC says while booting.
Then, it stops here, having no HDD.


If you need more infos, feel free to ask me.

Thanks,
David(e)
Retrocomputer
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 2:05 pm
Location: Pordenone, Italy

Postby evasive » Sun Jul 25, 2010 9:00 pm

cap24.pdf from here:
http://www.elhvb.com/mboards/olivetti/systems1.html

click on the link and let it send the email, I'll reply with that document.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Retrocomputer » Mon Jul 26, 2010 2:58 am

Oh, thanks! E-mail sent. What's that document about?

Thanks a lot,
David(e)
Retrocomputer
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 2:05 pm
Location: Pordenone, Italy

Postby evasive » Mon Jul 26, 2010 3:26 am

it is the service manual for these systems. at one time these were public online at olivetti but since olivetti PCs/Servers has decided to take this offline I decided to setup this service.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Retrocomputer » Mon Jul 26, 2010 3:28 am

That's GREAT!! I silently and hopefully wait.

David(e)
Retrocomputer
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 2:05 pm
Location: Pordenone, Italy

Postby Retrocomputer » Mon Jul 26, 2010 8:51 am

Oh yes, please, if you can, inform me when you have sent the manual. :) :oops:

Thx,
Davide
Retrocomputer
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 2:05 pm
Location: Pordenone, Italy

Postby evasive » Mon Jul 26, 2010 9:20 am

Just got home from work. manual sent. Most likely you are trying to use a disk that isn't supported, your machine is quite old and they used an actual model list of drives that you could fit. Much more strict than these days of autodetect.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Retrocomputer » Mon Jul 26, 2010 11:00 am

Hi evasive. Just checked, and it seems that I have some configuration issues.
I've got a supported HDD, a 212 MB Conner CP3200F. But, reading your manual, I noticed that I miss a SCSI cable terminator, needed because of the SCSI controller model, the GO582; but I've searched, found and mounted it . :D The second problem is that the HDD must be set with SCSI ID 6, on my drive, it means E2 & E3 jumpers shorted, as shown here:
Image. I tried, but it seems that those contacts' pitch isn't standard. Normal jumpers doesn't work. They doesn't fit on the contacts. Does anybody have this kind of jumpers?

Bye,
Davide
Retrocomputer
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 2:05 pm
Location: Pordenone, Italy

Postby evasive » Mon Jul 26, 2010 11:26 am

hmm those are not easy to find. what you can do is take the metal bit out of a normal jumper and form that to make one that fits on those pins. I think the pins are smaller but the distance between them is the same.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Retrocomputer » Mon Jul 26, 2010 12:19 pm

Oh my god... I just hand built two jumpers, they short-circuit well, and guess?? Nothing changed, Hard Disk(s) Present: 0.
I must enter in that BIOS, how do I?

Thanks,
Davide
Retrocomputer
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 2:05 pm
Location: Pordenone, Italy

Next

Return to BIOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: trendictionbot [Bot] and 0 guests