I can't get any work units

This forum is for discussions about the Motherboards.org Folding team. What is folding? Venture on in for a look.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

I can't get any work units

Postby MrG » Wed Apr 14, 2010 10:45 am

I can't get any work units. Here's my log:
[18:07:25] Loaded queue successfully.
[18:07:25] - Preparing to get new work unit...
[18:07:25] Cleaning up work directory
[18:07:25] + Attempting to get work packet
[18:07:25] - Will indicate memory of 2046 MB
[18:07:25] - Detect CPU.[18:07:25] - Autosending finished units... [April 14 18:07:25 UTC]
[18:07:25] Trying to send all finished work units
[18:07:25] + No unsent completed units remaining.
[18:07:25] - Autosend completed
Vendor: GenuineIntel, Family: 6, Model: 7, Stepping: 6
[18:07:25] - Connecting to assignment server
[18:07:25] Connecting to http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/
[18:07:26] Posted data.
[18:07:26] Initial: 0000; + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
[18:07:26] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[18:07:26] - Attempt #1 to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
[18:07:32] + Attempting to get work packet
[18:07:32] - Will indicate memory of 2046 MB
[18:07:32] - Connecting to assignment server
[18:07:32] Connecting to http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/
[18:07:33] Posted data.
[18:07:33] Initial: 0000; + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
[18:07:33] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[18:07:33] - Attempt #2 to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
[18:07:50] + Attempting to get work packet
[18:07:50] - Will indicate memory of 2046 MB
[18:07:50] - Connecting to assignment server
[18:07:50] Connecting to http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/
[18:07:51] Posted data.
[18:07:51] Initial: 0000; + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
[18:07:51] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[18:07:51] - Attempt #3 to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
[18:08:18] + Attempting to get work packet
[18:08:18] - Will indicate memory of 2046 MB
[18:08:18] - Connecting to assignment server
[18:08:18] Connecting to http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/
[18:08:19] Posted data.
[18:08:19] Initial: 0000; + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
[18:08:19] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[18:08:19] - Attempt #4 to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
[18:09:01] + Attempting to get work packet
[18:09:01] - Will indicate memory of 2046 MB
[18:09:01] - Connecting to assignment server
[18:09:01] Connecting to http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/
[18:09:02] Posted data.
[18:09:02] Initial: 0000; + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
[18:09:02] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[18:09:02] - Attempt #5 to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
[18:10:23] + Attempting to get work packet
[18:10:23] - Will indicate memory of 2046 MB
[18:10:23] - Connecting to assignment server
[18:10:23] Connecting to http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/
[18:10:24] Posted data.
[18:10:24] Initial: 0000; + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
[18:10:24] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[18:10:24] - Attempt #6 to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
[18:13:09] + Attempting to get work packet
[18:13:09] - Will indicate memory of 2046 MB
[18:13:09] - Connecting to assignment server
[18:13:09] Connecting to http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/
[18:13:10] Posted data.
[18:13:10] Initial: 0000; + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
[18:13:10] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[18:13:10] - Attempt #7 to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
[18:18:40] + Attempting to get work packet
[18:18:40] - Will indicate memory of 2046 MB
[18:18:40] - Connecting to assignment server
[18:18:40] Connecting to http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/
[18:18:41] Posted data.
[18:18:41] Initial: 0000; + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
[18:18:41] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[18:18:41] - Attempt #8 to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
[18:29:22] + Attempting to get work packet
[18:29:22] - Will indicate memory of 2046 MB
[18:29:22] - Connecting to assignment server
[18:29:22] Connecting to http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/
[18:29:23] Posted data.
[18:29:23] Initial: 0000; + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
[18:29:23] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[18:29:23] - Attempt #9 to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.

My internet connection is working for all other applications. Any thoughts?
MrG
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2008 2:38 pm

Postby Karlsweldt » Wed Apr 14, 2010 3:30 pm

Stanford may have had some problems with servers the week-end of April 3rd. Had a few units that would not return, also got a "503" code from the servers. There may still be problems. That "503" code means that either a server is maxed out or is too busy with clients.
Try shutting down the F@H process, wait a minute or so, and restart. Works for me!
But funny that you get that "http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/" message.. you should note a true IP address, such as (***.**.**.***:8080). If you get this IP address, (0.0.0.0), that is invalid, a dead end!!
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19119
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby Pette Broad » Wed Apr 14, 2010 4:43 pm

There's a shortage of work for cpu clients at the moment and for the last few weeks actually. To get work you need to add the -advmethods flag and request small units. Make sure you have the latest client which is 6.23.

Cheers,

Pete
Image
Pette Broad
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 5487
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Flintshire, U.K

Postby MrG » Thu Apr 15, 2010 12:45 pm

Thanks Pete.

I deleted all my Folding files and installed it all and now it works. However, I'm getting some crazy work units, 47 and 84 pointers lasting about 3 hours each??? I'm getting through dozens of them! :o
MrG
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2008 2:38 pm

Postby Pette Broad » Thu Apr 15, 2010 4:30 pm

MrG wrote:Thanks Pete.

I deleted all my Folding files and installed it all and now it works. However, I'm getting some crazy work units, 47 and 84 pointers lasting about 3 hours each??? I'm getting through dozens of them! :o


Yeah, I'm getting them too, I kinda like them. :D

Pete
Image
Pette Broad
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 5487
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Flintshire, U.K


Return to Motherboards.org Folding Team

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests