The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Mon Sep 24, 2018 2:05 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: e-machines T2885
PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 6:03 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 5:44 pm
Posts: 2
I have a E-Machines T2885 that has a fried motherboard. Apparently this is a common occurrence. I would like to buy a motherboard so I can use the processor to build another computer, but am having a hard time finding the info I need to buy one from say a local Tiger direct/Comp Usa.

Info from computer:
E-machines T2885
2.80 ghz Intel Celeron processor
numbers written on motherboard itself
N232
E210882
40000940-00926 (EM) 144901
TGSR40020576 AA C54560-202

any help would be great!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 6:45 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Posts: 3147
Location: Right behind you
http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=27 ... L77T,SL77V

That one? Should fit any mATX board in there, the issue is going to be finding one. I've found a couple of direct replacements, but geez........for the $175 they want you can get into a new proc and motherboard combo. Have to factor in new RAM as well, unless you can find a new board that still accepts DDR.

_________________
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:57 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 5:44 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks for the help. Yes, $175 is way to much to try to bring this computer back to life.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:55 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
http://www.e4allupgraders.info/dir1/mot ... GVSR.shtml

is what is originally in there. most likely the ones online are refurbs anyway.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 1:50 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 7:28 pm
Posts: 673
Location: Tacoma,WA
Be sure to check the power supply before firing up the replacement board, or better yet replace it. I fried 2 boards in an E-Machine because of a bad power supply.

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 12:45 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 1:19 pm
Posts: 4
Hi antsmarching1999 i have a emachine that had a psu problem so with all due diligents swopped the psu to another mobo to see if the psu was faulty. turned the power it took a bit longer to boot up and the machine worked for a while then i swopped the psu back to the original mobos guess what i now have two mobos that are not working!! PDT_Armataz_01_03 PDT_Armataz_01_02 PDT_Armataz_01_02 :oops: :oops: :oops:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 12:37 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20862
Location: 07438
Quite a common problem when a "cheapie" PSU is used in any computer! It is barely adequate for the design, and when it fails then the mobo usually goes out with it. While it is safe to test better-quality PSU types on another mobo (if you are certain it is working fairly well), is OK. But for a PSU that you are unsure of, you may be putting another mobo at risk. The only safe way to test any PSU is with a dummy load. This can be heavy-duty resistors, or an old 12 volt auto headlamp. The +5 volts and +12 volts must be loaded to a minimal value for proper regulation, or there will be false readings or no power out. The resistors used would be 2.5 ohms at 20 watts on the +5 volts and 5~7 ohms at 20 watts on the +12 volts. They become very hot very quickly, so the auto headlamp is a better and safer method.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 12:59 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
Bestec "Blow-m-up" 250W no doubt.

Too bad I only see this thread now, could have saved you the second board :(

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 7:36 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 1:19 pm
Posts: 4
I was doomed from the start, I didn't know about this website. anyway i now have two processores that need new mobo's 1st mobo is for the emachine 1.8 TriGem Imperial-GLVE. And asrock K7VT2 SERIES any ideas!!...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 8:57 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Posts: 3147
Location: Right behind you
Ouch. The ASRock is going to be the same as your eMachines board.......old, hard to find, and overpriced if and when you do.

http://computers.shop.ebay.com/Motherbo ... 86.c0.m282

There's some new Socket A boards in there, microATX like you need. Don't know what processor you have for that board, so I can't narrow it down to compatability, but the Asus boards will be most likely to work.

_________________
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group