COD Modern Warfare 2 - issues with Steam

Like to play games? This is the place to talk about it.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

COD Modern Warfare 2 - issues with Steam

Postby Ol Dave » Sat Jan 16, 2010 3:10 pm

Hey guys, I have installed COD as mentioned above and about every couple of days, Steam seems to "go away". Therefore I lose access to the game. Has anyone ran into this issue before? I went to the Steam website and even downloaded the game again (4 hours worth). Followed their suggestion to run Steam in off-line mode. Worked for a few days and yet again today, no Steam. Very disapointed at this point.
Appreciate any suggestions, thanks !

CPU = AMD 4400 x 2
MOTHERBOARD = Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe
RAM = OZC 2 x 1g
HEATSINK = Thermaltake
OS = Win XP Home
HD = 4 x 250g in Raid 0+1
POWER SUPPLY = OZC 750W
VIDEO CARD = XFX 9600 GS x 2 in SLI
SOUND CARD = M-Audio 5.1
CASE = Thermaltake Saprano
Ol Dave
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 9:04 pm

Postby fussnfeathers » Sat Jan 16, 2010 3:35 pm

https://support.steampowered.com/kb_art ... -WPDF-3220

Tried all that? Pay special attention to the part on manually choosing your server. Some AV programs can cause you to connect to the wrong server for you. The only other thing I can think of is COD has DRM, and Steam adds their own DRM on top of it, so it may be a simple conflict where COD itself is saying it's fine and legal, but Steam isn't getting the message and cutting you off.

1-Exit Steam
2-Navigate to your Steam installation directory. (c:\program files\steam\ by default.)
3-Delete everything in that directory EXCEPT the following:
steam.exe
steamapps directory (All of Steam's game files are kept here.)
4-Restart Steam

Try that, too. Actually from the support forum for another game, but it should work for you, as well.

Other than that, Steam is just achingly slow, drops out often, is limited on what you can do.......just not a particularly good service.
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night
fussnfeathers
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 3147
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Right behind you

Postby Ol Dave » Sat Jan 16, 2010 4:00 pm

Thanks for the quick reply. For the moment, I'm only playing single player mode on the PC, not on-line. Will try your suggetions and advise.
Ol Dave
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 9:04 pm

Postby Ol Dave » Sat Jan 16, 2010 4:13 pm

OK, deleting all the files except the .exe worked! Relaunched Steam and it connected to my account.
Selecting My Games from the list and launching COD from there worked. Thanks for the solution fussnfeathers!

Could there be a better soluiton than going thru steam just to play single player mode?

Thanks again!
Ol Dave
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 9:04 pm

Postby fussnfeathers » Sat Jan 16, 2010 5:40 pm

Not that I'm aware of. Quite a few games these days require at least a login to verify your install against your info on the server anymore.
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night
fussnfeathers
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 3147
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Right behind you

Postby Ol Dave » Sat Jan 16, 2010 9:41 pm

Afraid your were gonna say that.

Thanks much for your help!
Ol Dave
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 9:04 pm


Return to Games

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 0 guests