Firewall ports on a FiOS router?

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Firewall ports on a FiOS router?

Postby lannaheim » Fri Nov 27, 2009 6:29 pm

Got a nasty virus/spyware which has disabled ability to get online. Is it possible this thing messed up the HTTP ports, and how can I change that? I'm presently running cleaners on the hard drive which I extracted. But if it's in the registry, that won't help. Any ideas?
Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside a dog, it's too dark to read.
--- Groucho Marx

A member of Folding Team number 33258 for a cure for PARKINSONS DISEASE
lannaheim
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
 
Posts: 358
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2003 11:31 pm
Location: Washington, DC

Postby evasive » Sat Nov 28, 2009 12:58 am

Check your hosts file and use malwarebytes.org anti-malware, it will at least detect stuff that has infiltrated your TCP/IP driver stack.

Any idea of a name or family tpe of your malware yet?
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby lannaheim » Sat Nov 28, 2009 12:31 pm

I am doing those other things. How does a spyware close down PORTS And how can I remove this crisis....? I am so tired of reformatting as the ONLY WAY...
Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside a dog, it's too dark to read.
--- Groucho Marx

A member of Folding Team number 33258 for a cure for PARKINSONS DISEASE
lannaheim
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
 
Posts: 358
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2003 11:31 pm
Location: Washington, DC

Postby evasive » Sat Nov 28, 2009 3:02 pm

By loading its own driver that hooks into your TCP/IP driver stack. It does quite early in the boot process. You may have been hit by a rootkit.

How to prevent reformat? By making a regular complete image of your system disk.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby lannaheim » Sat Nov 28, 2009 7:58 pm

Are there programs which can eradicate rootkit junk?
Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside a dog, it's too dark to read.
--- Groucho Marx

A member of Folding Team number 33258 for a cure for PARKINSONS DISEASE
lannaheim
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
 
Posts: 358
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2003 11:31 pm
Location: Washington, DC

Postby bdub » Sun Nov 29, 2009 8:08 am

after you re-format, you should make an image of what you do... then next time they come to you with a futzed up system, just re-image.
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
Samsung 840 EVo SSD 120 GB
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3653
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Location: Washington D.C.

Postby evasive » Sun Nov 29, 2009 8:33 am

lannaheim wrote:Are there programs which can eradicate rootkit junk?


http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysi ... 97445.aspx

more info:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rootkit

if you have a baddie rootkit it is time for a complete reinstall...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests