The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sat Nov 17, 2018 1:43 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2009 3:16 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 3:11 am
Posts: 2
I'm sure all the computer smarties here know an audio interface built into the motherboard is useless when you ultimately end up installing a professional sound card.

So For those of us who investigate these things like I'm trying to do and who build home recording computer workstations. The question arises?

Does anyone have any knowledge or personal experience of Motherboards available not integrating any audio on the motherboard? [/SIZE]

Much apprecaite every contribution to my thread. Thanks :o


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2009 4:10 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
It is going to be very hard to find one but you could look into a workstation or server board, these workhorse boards usually come without anything fancy integrated. You may find the price a bit steep though.

The other option is to buy one with onboard audio but simply disable it from the bios. These days this actually works unlike previous encounters where the onboard audio would still show up using resources but not be functional.

With the savings buying a regular board instead of an expensive server/workstation one, you can get a better quality power supply with lower ripple current.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2009 4:28 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Posts: 3147
Location: Right behind you
Most pro audio interfaces worth anything use Firewire these days anyway (with the exception of RME and M-Audio's Delta series), so just disabling the onboard in the BIOS is adquate, you won't be going anywhere near it anyway. Be sure whatever motherboard you choose uses a TI (Texas Instruments) Firewire chip, and if it does not, buy a PCI card that does. It does make a huge difference, cheaper chips tend to be noisy, introducting pops and clicks into the audio signal, and in the case of really cheap chips, often lose the connection to the soundcard in mid-stream. A Xeon based board is an alternative, but expensive, and the processors required are near astronomical in price. It really depends on how far you want to go, though. I do just fine on a stock Q9550 and Asus board with the onboard disabled, and in fact was glad to have it when I started having a balance issue, was able to rule out my hardware and trace it to a simply replaced monitor amp.

_________________
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2009 4:45 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 3:11 am
Posts: 2
thanks for contributing to my post I will keep T.I. chip in mind.

I am looking to build I high end computer I want to aviod being to much on the cutting edge as they all experience obsticles getting certian things to work the way you expect them too. But will gladly share my experiencs on this forum if I can help anyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2009 5:01 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
Your experience can set somebody else on the right track from the start. It may be just enough to get them going :)

You're welcome

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2009 11:27 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Posts: 3147
Location: Right behind you
You can check http://www.adkproaudio.com for a good working idea of what you want in a professional workstation. I know those guys well, they know what they're talking about. Prices aren't bad either.

_________________
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 11:13 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 11:07 pm
Posts: 2
thanks for you article


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group