BIOS Setting For Swapping CPUs

Moderator: The Mod Squad

BIOS Setting For Swapping CPUs

Postby bruhthaKuga » Wed Sep 02, 2009 3:03 pm

My Friend have a Amptron mobo with a SiS 645 chipset. the board may be a clone of the PCchips 930Mlr.

It had a Pentium 4, 1.6Ghz 400 FSB, I swapped it with 3.06Ghz Celron D 800 FSB.

What bios settings should I use to get the best performance from it?


The system have two GHz of 2700, 40Gb HDD, Windows 7,

The key features of this mainboard include:

Socket-478 Processor
The PGA Socket 478
Supports Intel Pentium 4 series CPUs
Supports up to 400 MHz Front-Side Bus

Memory Support
Two 168-pin DIMM slots for SDRAM memory modules
Two 184-pin DIMM slots for DDR memory modules
Support SDRAM up to 133 MHz /DDR up to 333 MHz memory bus
Maximum installed memory is 2GB
Below are excerps from the PCchips manual.

CPU PnP Setup Page
This page lets you manually configure the mainboard for the CPU. The system will automatically detect the kind of CPU that you have installed and make the appropriate adjustments to the items on this page.

AMIBIOS SETUP – CPU PnP SETUP
©2000 American Megatrends, Inc. All Rights Reserved
CPU Type . . . . . . . . . . Intel P4
CPU/DRAM Speed . . . . . 100/100 MHz
CPU Core Voltage . . . . . 1.616V
CPU Ratio . . . . . . . . . H/W Trap
CPU Frequency . . . . . . 100 MHz
DRAM Frequency . . . . . .100 MHz


ESC : Quit ­v <> : Select Item
F1 : Help PU/PD/+/- : Modify
F5 : Old Values (Shift)F2 : Color
F6 : Load Optimal values
F7 : Load Best performance values
* GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD4P Motherboard

* Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz

* MSI R4670-2D1G/D3 Radeon HD 4670 1GB

* Crucial Ballistix 3GB DDR3

* WD Caviar Blue WD800JD 80G

* Antec EA750

* Samsung LN52A650
bruhthaKuga
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 1:01 am
Location: Alpha Quadrant

Postby o1die2 » Wed Sep 02, 2009 5:15 pm

I had an old sis 645 board once; I believe it can run at 133 fsb (533 cpus) on some boards with a bios update, but yours may only run at 100. The 800 may run, but underclocked. That board wasn't designed for 800 fsb p4's. The celeron 3.06 is a 533 cpu.
o1die2
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2560
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2000 12:01 am
Location: Pflugerville Tx

How Should I Set The BIOS To Get The Best Performance

Postby bruhthaKuga » Thu Sep 03, 2009 11:58 am

Will the CPUs FSB being over the mobo supported FSB have a negative effect?

How should I set the bios to get the best performance from this CPU?
* GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD4P Motherboard

* Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz

* MSI R4670-2D1G/D3 Radeon HD 4670 1GB

* Crucial Ballistix 3GB DDR3

* WD Caviar Blue WD800JD 80G

* Antec EA750

* Samsung LN52A650
bruhthaKuga
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 1:01 am
Location: Alpha Quadrant

Postby fussnfeathers » Thu Sep 03, 2009 8:00 pm

Since the board only supports up to 400mhz FSB, the Celeron you put in will only run at half-speed, or about 1.6ghz, and will actually be slower than the P4 you replaced, as it has about a quarter the L2 cache that the P4 you took out has. There is no BIOS setting to fix that problem, it's hard-coded into the chipset. You may be able to find an old Northwood processor at a higher clock speed with the needed 400mhz bus, but it'll be a little tough.
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night
fussnfeathers
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 3147
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Right behind you

Postby o1die2 » Fri Sep 04, 2009 5:21 am

You'll need a different motherboard to run the northwood 800. Look for an Intel 865 chipset. Computer geeks sometimes carries them or check ebay.
o1die2
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2560
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2000 12:01 am
Location: Pflugerville Tx

Postby fussnfeathers » Fri Sep 04, 2009 6:11 am

o1die2 wrote:You'll need a different motherboard to run the northwood 800. Look for an Intel 865 chipset. Computer geeks sometimes carries them or check ebay.


Or check the Buy/Sell/Trade forum, I've got two 478 boards for sale that support 800mhz FSB Northwoods. Cheap, too. :P
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night
fussnfeathers
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 3147
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Right behind you

Postby Karlsweldt » Fri Sep 04, 2009 4:40 pm

Your mobo must be an early model '845'. Some of the later models could work either a 400 Mhz or 533 Mhz base. If the chipsets weren't designed for the higher speed, no BIOS update will work to do so.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20662
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby bruhthaKuga » Wed Sep 09, 2009 1:41 pm

What is the best P4 that this mobo can handle and how do I discern the difference?

I am learning that changes happen through out the production year and you have to be abreast of changes and versions. I bought for myself a 920 (CO) :oops: :? :-| Learned the Co/Do thing hours after it was too late to change. Was reading that to buy the best 920 for over clocking you need to make sure that it is from certain batch numbers.
* GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD4P Motherboard

* Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz

* MSI R4670-2D1G/D3 Radeon HD 4670 1GB

* Crucial Ballistix 3GB DDR3

* WD Caviar Blue WD800JD 80G

* Antec EA750

* Samsung LN52A650
bruhthaKuga
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 1:01 am
Location: Alpha Quadrant

Postby fussnfeathers » Wed Sep 09, 2009 6:44 pm

1. The fastest P4 400mhz FSB chip was the 2.8ghz. You'll have to scour eBay to find one. Since there is no mention of being able to run a 533mhz FSB chip, don't waste money on one.

2. Yes, better overclocking chips come from certain batches. Reason is that all chips within a series come from the same wafers, it's just that some are rated to run faster than others. If it happened that the particular die tested happened to be the only slow one in the batch, then it's likely that the procs from that batch can run much faster than rated. It's a crapshoot, though. Getting a processor from a specific batch doesn't guarantee a killer overclock, just makes it more likely.
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night
fussnfeathers
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 3147
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Right behind you

Close This Tread Unless Someone Else Have A Use For It

Postby bruhthaKuga » Wed Sep 16, 2009 4:34 pm

Close This Tread Unless Someone Else Have A Use For It

I was wavering between getting a new CPU or Mobo, mobo won. My friend have the PC in Cali and I just ordered him a Asrock P4VM900 Sata2 for $34 to use with the Celron D 3.06Ghz cpu. Once he does this build I will pull back on the rod and he'll be hooked. I'll have him in an up to date PC in a few months after he tinkers with this one a while.

He was talking about buying a refurb for around $400 from MicroCenter and I think that with a few more dollars he can have a Kicker.
* GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD4P Motherboard

* Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz

* MSI R4670-2D1G/D3 Radeon HD 4670 1GB

* Crucial Ballistix 3GB DDR3

* WD Caviar Blue WD800JD 80G

* Antec EA750

* Samsung LN52A650
bruhthaKuga
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 1:01 am
Location: Alpha Quadrant


Return to BIOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: YandexBot [Bot] and 0 guests