The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Dec 18, 2018 11:49 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Mac mobo upgrade
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 3:22 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 4:53 pm
Posts: 654
Location: Wanting to be at these forums, but not as active as they
I have the PowerMac G3 B/W. I have learned that, in order for it to work, the battery has to be installed.

The PowerMac G4 motherboard does not have to have the battery.

What I am wondering is, can the PMG4 MB fit into the PMG3BW case? They appear to be the same size and all; however, I have no idea of the screw positioning.

Main reason:

Battery: $7 each. Annual replacement.
If I want to get G4 processor in G3 slot, it's $200+ :o

G4 MB: $25 eBay. Processor: ~$30-40. Front light/button board: $5.


$200+7 annually to $25+30+5=$60, maybe the $7 every 1.5 years


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 4:46 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 4:53 pm
Posts: 654
Location: Wanting to be at these forums, but not as active as they
Never mind.

_________________
I'm gonna get my new hardware. And my worklog here.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 12:32 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
So, does it fit or did you find a complete G4 for less than the board and CPU in the first place?

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:27 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 4:53 pm
Posts: 654
Location: Wanting to be at these forums, but not as active as they
Actually, I am putting a mATX board in it, and getting just the g4 power board. Headed into Modding Work Logs.

From what I could gather, it would fit, but only one with 4 slot-spots.

Sorry, mac board's not headed to BBS forum. No ISP email. Maybe I'll put it in a standard ATX case.

_________________
I'm gonna get my new hardware. And my worklog here.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group