The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sun Sep 23, 2018 1:18 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Crysis demo first run
PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 11:25 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 3:22 am
Posts: 936
Location: PA, US
Having never seen or played the game that is well known for bringing systems to their knees, I decided to download the original demo and give it a whirl on my new sig rig.

Given that my build is very modest, I figured that Crysis would be a slideshow even on the lowest settings. Boy, was I surprised after playing and then running the Crysis benchmark tool......

Code:
3/14/2009 2:38:15 PM - Vista
Beginning Run #1 on Map-island, Demo-benchmark_gpu
DX10 1024x768, AA=No AA, Vsync=Disabled, 32 bit test, FullScreen
Demo Loops=1, Time Of Day= 9
Global Game Quality: Low
 ==============================================================
TimeDemo Play Started , (Total Frames: 2000, Recorded Time: 111.86s)
!TimeDemo Run 0 Finished.
    Play Time: 34.10s, Average FPS: 58.66
    Min FPS: 38.47 at frame 1951, Max FPS: 89.97 at frame 1018
    Average Tri/Sec: 23210824, Tri/Frame: 395713
    Recorded/Played Tris ratio: 2.32
TimeDemo Play Ended, (1 Runs Performed)
==============================================================

Completed All Tests

<><><><><><><><><><><><><>>--SUMMARY--<<><><><><><><><><><><><><>

3/14/2009 2:38:15 PM - Vista

Run #1- DX10 1024x768 AA=No AA, 32 bit test, Quality: Low ~~ Last Average FPS: 58.66




I got an average of 58 FPS, with the lowest hitting at 38 at all low settings @ 1024x768 (which is my native res). Another surprise was how amazing the game looked, even at low. :D

What are your experiences with Crysis, and did you enjoy the game?


:)

_________________

Asrock N68PV-GS mATX
Athlon X2 5050e Brisbane
4GB Kingston DDR2-800 (2X2)
120GB Seagate Momentous 7200.2
Sapphire HD4650 512MB (DDR2)
Hec HP585D 585W psu
Windows 7 RC


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 2:51 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20860
Location: 07438
With any game or program, on any system.. if what you are bringing to the front line will have the best response, then some background programming may need to be disabled or closed. This will give more free CPU cycles to process data and improve performance.. especially with games.
The OS has to load all programming into memory pages for reference or use. The hard drive is way too slow to provide the data access that is needed by today's programming and games.
The more free memory for the intended program, the better!

The F@H processes acquire any free CPU cycles, and are also memory-intensive. Best to always close down any F@H processes before gaming.
If the F@H processes are set as a service-launch, then they never will close fully until the system shuts down. Best is a non-service launch from a desktop icon or the 'start' menu path. Then when you wish to close the F@H processes, they will do so fully.. with no loss of progress.
I run two instances of F@H on my system.. and memory use is normally about 75%. I have CPU usage set at 90%. When only basic programming is in operation, then about 20% of memory is in use. And I have only 1 Gb of memory installed.
Tax time is coming.. may just treat myself to a pair of 1 Gb modules!

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 4:32 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 3:22 am
Posts: 936
Location: PA, US
I'm guessing my 4GB of dual-channel ram is probably helping, as I *think* the game calls for 1.5GB in Vista.

Ramping up the settings to medium obviously lowered the framerates, but I found the game to still be easily playable.....

Code:
3/14/2009 4:30:30 PM - Vista
Beginning Run #1 on Map-island, Demo-benchmark_gpu
DX10 1024x768, AA=No AA, Vsync=Disabled, 32 bit test, FullScreen
Demo Loops=1, Time Of Day= 9
Global Game Quality: Medium
 ==============================================================
TimeDemo Play Started , (Total Frames: 2000, Recorded Time: 111.86s)
!TimeDemo Run 0 Finished.
    Play Time: 60.78s, Average FPS: 32.91
    Min FPS: 20.69 at frame 1958, Max FPS: 46.37 at frame 872
    Average Tri/Sec: 23296080, Tri/Frame: 707970
    Recorded/Played Tris ratio: 1.29
TimeDemo Play Ended, (1 Runs Performed)
==============================================================

Completed All Tests

<><><><><><><><><><><><><>>--SUMMARY--<<><><><><><><><><><><><><>

3/14/2009 4:30:30 PM - Vista

Run #1- DX10 1024x768 AA=No AA, 32 bit test, Quality: Medium ~~ Last Average FPS: 32.91



Note that the benchmark shows Vista as the OS, but I'm in fact running Windows 7 (in Vista compatibility mode). It was not needed for the game itself, but the benchmark tool would crash the game without it.

:)

_________________

Asrock N68PV-GS mATX
Athlon X2 5050e Brisbane
4GB Kingston DDR2-800 (2X2)
120GB Seagate Momentous 7200.2
Sapphire HD4650 512MB (DDR2)
Hec HP585D 585W psu
Windows 7 RC


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2009 3:04 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20860
Location: 07438
Vista is a known memory hog. XP could likely do the same performance with 1 Gb of memory. For what the demo specs note with system memory, that may be a minimally decent play status. In reality, the game itself would not need that much memory to its own needs. For reading in data from the hard drive to memory for use, a gig of data would take around 5 minutes before you could work!!
It took about 6 months to get programming rewritten so as to be more compatible to Vista, from the previous XP. May well take about the same time for Windows 7 total compatibility.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2009 8:14 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 7:46 pm
Posts: 853
Location: Wisconsin, USA
I believe Windows 7 is considerably better tweaked for lower end systems. So a gig of RAM will do better under Windows 7 then under Vista.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 10:32 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 10:19 pm
Posts: 6
game was awsome...probably got a 25 fps average experience.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group