The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Wed Sep 19, 2018 5:10 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: A router question.
PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2009 3:03 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 3:31 pm
Posts: 2401
Location: North Carolina
I have a Moxa EDS 205 industrial router that I want to use in setting up a 2 pc network.

It can use 12 to 48 vdc or 18 to 30 vac to operate.These do not have a power source included with them.

Can I use the 12 vdc from my psu to safely power this router?

I think it will work, but want some other opinions.

_________________
No keyboard detected-Press any key to continue.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 7:23 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
Quote:
It can use 12 to 48 vdc


this includes the 12vdc you got on your PSU.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:06 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 3:31 pm
Posts: 2401
Location: North Carolina
Thanks,E. I feel safer now.

Right now the router is running off of a 15 vdc speaker transformer. :D

_________________
No keyboard detected-Press any key to continue.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 1:37 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
which is fine too. Any special reason to use the PSU in your system?

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 1:42 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 3:31 pm
Posts: 2401
Location: North Carolina
Just trying to lessen the amount of transformers and wires.
And put it inside pc cabinet to reduce clutter.I have a terrible mess already. :oops:

_________________
No keyboard detected-Press any key to continue.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 4:14 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20858
Location: 07438
sloopdog 1 wrote:
I have a terrible mess already. :oops:

Nothing could be as bad as what is behind my monitor!! Image No self-respecting rat would go near it!!
It is indeed a shame that a "common" type of power bus isn't used for electronics gear.. as a 12 VDC source would be quite universal, and also allow for automotive use without an inverter!

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group