The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Wed Aug 22, 2018 12:05 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Sep 11, 2008 1:26 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 7:37 pm
Posts: 67
Anyone try it? see any problems?

Looking to hopefully/finally build a new machine in the next few months will most likely relegate old machine to file server status and want to simply put a KVM switch in between new machine and old machine and me


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 2:36 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20851
Location: 07438
I have four active systems at my desk.. with two that connect to the Internet. I use a KVM with a single LCD monitor and keyboard/mouse. No problems whatsoever, unless I shut off a system before switching back to an active one.
One system is a 'folder', another is a 'gamer' and one is an older Slot 1/600 with Win 98 on it, for the (ancient) command-prompt games I treasure.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 2:45 pm 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 7:37 pm
Posts: 67
Awesome thanks.
I have uses windows remote desktop and asstd remote software and there is always a bit of lag so my fear was that a KVM switch would put too much lag in the whole thing and make gaming unejoyable.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 6:45 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20851
Location: 07438
With the extra cable length and circuitry associated with a KVM, you will see only a few microseconds delay.. insignificant, unless you are working within picoseconds response time. Going beyond 100 ft. (31M) with cables would effect some noticeable delays in response time.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 6:52 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 3:06 pm
Posts: 5806
Location: Delaware
with poor KVMs there can be brightness or color loss. Test it extensively when you get it, just search google for monitor tests I'm sure they exist (and are free ;) )

_________________
ImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 4:36 pm 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 7:37 pm
Posts: 67
Sadly it may end up being a moot point. After months of poking at this part vs that part and hem-hawing around saying I don't need to spend the money I was moving my pc from one area to another this past couple of days and discovered that my PS2 ports had gone bad (was trying to use a different keyboard/mouse for a while) AND 2 of my 4 USB ports have gone bad. The onboard NIC went dead years ago and there is no telling how long these PS2/USB ports have been bad. The board will be 5 years old come Christmas so it looks like my dreams of a dedicated file/print server may go down the drain.

Anyone care to buy my ide drives :D (kidding for now till the board actually dies)
I have like 5 of them and newer boards can only handle 1 pair of IDE drives.

I guess if I dont buy a KVM that'll give me $20 + to spend on other parts.
And yes I know there are boards out there with 2 IDE slots but they tend to be older boards.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 6:01 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20851
Location: 07438
There are many great KVMs priced below $50.00 USD.. with shunts or bridges that keep input connections active, with little or no signal degrading. The oldest type with just a rotary switch may induce some degrading, due to "free" wiring inside.. and no bridges or shunts.

Sorry to hear your mobo is on its way out. If you still have power on the PS2 ports, it may be the keyboard controller chip.. no salvation for that. But if no power, then there is a tiny SOB component near the port stack which should have an "F1" or "F2" tag.. the fuse for the +5 volts supplying the ports. If bad, then a single strand of #22AWG wire tack-soldered across the component will bring life back to the ports. The fuse in nominally rated at around 2 amps. The single strand of wire is about that limit in current.
As to the IDE drives, they can still be used on SATA ports.. with an inexpensive adapter. Just ensure the drive's jumper is set to stand-alone or master. Even old IDE optical drives can be used on SATA ports!

Might be worth the time to do a temp install of the OS on a spare hdd, with just the mobo drivers installed.. to see if the mobo is still worth using. May be that some current drivers are corrupted.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 1:24 pm 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 7:37 pm
Posts: 67
Board still works for now. I have 2 out of 4 workins USB ports w/ USB kb/mouse. Just with GAS going up an extra $1/gallon in the past week and it looking like my board is dying I have to ponder do I need a KVM switch. ATM I am just hoping this thing holds out until end of the year now.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group