Down for the weekend

This forum is for discussions about the Motherboards.org Folding team. What is folding? Venture on in for a look.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Down for the weekend

Postby warbenekar » Fri Sep 12, 2008 8:57 am

As a precaution, my farm, along with all of our other machines are being turned off in preparation for Hurricane Ike, although we are several Hundred Miles inland. Anyway, so over the weekend, there will be little to absolutely no numbers until probably Tuesday.
Fold Team 33258
warbenekar
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2003 2:06 pm
Location: Tyler, Texas

Postby Karlsweldt » Fri Sep 12, 2008 1:15 pm

Be safe for yourself and family. Shutting down the 'farm' will help to prevent more serious damage to it.
Hope the hurricane looses its punch quickly, with the least cost to life and limb.. and property!
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20660
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby MrCraigCraig » Fri Sep 12, 2008 5:00 pm

By preserving your equipment, you'll keep it ready to Fold another day.

Thanks for keeping us apprised. Good luck. 8)
I tried using a "Point of View Gun", but my aim was lousy. ;-)

ASUS K8N, AMD Sempron 3100+(1.8ghz), 1gb RAM, eVGA 5500FX 256mb AGP, two WD120gb SATA drives in RAID 0 (striping), 450w power supply.

Fold well, so that others may prosper.
MrCraigCraig
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 887
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 9:33 pm
Location: NH

Postby wullger » Mon Sep 15, 2008 1:21 pm

In the same boat (and city) as him. Should be bringing my folding equipment back online within the next 2 days. How was the wind over on your side of town?
wullger
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 3:36 pm

Folding Resumed, but Not At Full Capacity

Postby warbenekar » Wed Sep 17, 2008 4:57 am

I am folding again, but now only on 20 + about 7 or 8. Instead my previous 40ish. Apparently when we lost power and it came back on, the circuit I had about 12 of these machines on blew and then they realised 12 machines were on one circuit and asked me not to have 12 machines on 1 circuit. So right now I am not using that circuit. Anyway, I am trying, or going to be trying to move things around and see what I can do.
Fold Team 33258
warbenekar
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2003 2:06 pm
Location: Tyler, Texas

Postby Pette Broad » Wed Sep 17, 2008 3:49 pm

Thanks for keeping us up to date :)


Pete
Image
Pette Broad
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 5490
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Flintshire, U.K

Postby Karlsweldt » Fri Sep 19, 2008 5:09 am

The average decent computer will draw around 180 watts or so. Add the monitor, and you are likely just over 200 watts. Ten of those setups would equal 2 Kw, or about 17 amps on a 120 volt circuit. Most AC branches are set for 15 amps max. Might be a good idea to find a 220 volt line branch, and use the PSU's 230 volt input. About 1/2 the current used at 120 volts!
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20660
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438


Return to Motherboards.org Folding Team

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest