The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Sep 25, 2018 7:10 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Can I go any higher?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 6:15 am 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 3:42 pm
Posts: 278
Location: Ararat Vic Australia
Hey all.

I recently bought a new rig, stats are in me sig. I was just wondering how much higher I can take this e8500. I am running the noctua nhu12b cooler

_________________
core i7 920@4.0ghz
asrock x58 extreme 3
6 gig ocz ddr3 1866mhz @ 1600mhz
evga gtx 460 1gb external exhaust *2
Creative x-fi xtreme gamer
custom watercooling loop for both cpu and gpus


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 1:13 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 5:48 pm
Posts: 780
Location: Ohio
You can keep going, and stop when your computer becomes unstable. Make sure your temps are low and voltages aren't too high. Or until you hit a fsb wall.

_________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 3.8ghz
8800 GTS 640MB
Crucial Ballistix 2GB DDR2 800
Gigabyte DS3R


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 5:43 pm 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 3:42 pm
Posts: 278
Location: Ararat Vic Australia
The main problem is I can seem to get it stable over 1600mhz fsb. Anything higher and it either reboots endlessly or just wont load windows or play something simple like diablo 1

_________________
core i7 920@4.0ghz
asrock x58 extreme 3
6 gig ocz ddr3 1866mhz @ 1600mhz
evga gtx 460 1gb external exhaust *2
Creative x-fi xtreme gamer
custom watercooling loop for both cpu and gpus


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:37 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
are you sure that is not the motherboard cr*pping out? What is the maximum FSB reported on this board?

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:38 pm 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 3:42 pm
Posts: 278
Location: Ararat Vic Australia
The rated maximum fsb is 2000mhz,
It supports 1600mhz cpus such as the qx9770.
It even supprots the ddr3 2ghz I have with overclocking.

_________________
core i7 920@4.0ghz
asrock x58 extreme 3
6 gig ocz ddr3 1866mhz @ 1600mhz
evga gtx 460 1gb external exhaust *2
Creative x-fi xtreme gamer
custom watercooling loop for both cpu and gpus


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2008 2:40 am 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 3:42 pm
Posts: 278
Location: Ararat Vic Australia
doesn't matter much now anyway lol...
This is the second time I've had to send the board back with a dead bios... And apparantly this time there must of been something screwed with the motherboard as the company who I got it through have sent it back to their supplier.
It's been like a month and I've only been able to use the board for approx 2 or 3 days total.
So I'm not really impressed with the board or xfx (whom make awsome vid cards... only killed one in 5 years), why would such a big company bring out such a dodgy board? A qucik google search on the board turns up a ton of people who all have been having nothing but bios troubles with the board, and when xfx released the updated bioses to fix the problem then if you don't flash from a floppy you can kiss the board goodbye, even though xfx reccomends you use the nvidia system tools.

_________________
core i7 920@4.0ghz
asrock x58 extreme 3
6 gig ocz ddr3 1866mhz @ 1600mhz
evga gtx 460 1gb external exhaust *2
Creative x-fi xtreme gamer
custom watercooling loop for both cpu and gpus


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2008 4:46 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
somehow flashing through anything but a floppy drive still gives major headaches overall. I have no idea why, one would think there's been enough progress in the area of making things bootable be it under DOS or Linux.

Flashing from within anything windows still is not an option for me. At all. I'd rather put out a special PXE-image for that matter.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2008 7:38 am 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 3:42 pm
Posts: 278
Location: Ararat Vic Australia
Then why would xfx post on their website to use the nvidia system tools?
And in my own personal experience using the asus windows bios updating utility for me has been nothing but flawless for the last 3 years at least.
So not all things are bad lol

_________________
core i7 920@4.0ghz
asrock x58 extreme 3
6 gig ocz ddr3 1866mhz @ 1600mhz
evga gtx 460 1gb external exhaust *2
Creative x-fi xtreme gamer
custom watercooling loop for both cpu and gpus


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 2:19 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
well, I have used a windows flash utility more than once but always on a crisp clean windows install. If a system has quirks I shall not and will not use a windows flash utility.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 10, 2008 2:42 pm 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 3:42 pm
Posts: 278
Location: Ararat Vic Australia
Well I finally got the board back....lol, This time round the supplier had to replace it as it was dead dead lol, I managed to get the p06 bios on. I cheated alil and used the gigabyte @bios utility lol
Now that the board is working properly it's a real screamer lol,
with alil overclocking setting the cpu @ 4.25ghz the 9600's @ 770 core 1750 shader and 1003 mem I was able to get a score of 18639 in 3dmark06.
Thats bloody quick considering I'm running a dual core and two tiny video cards lol

_________________
core i7 920@4.0ghz
asrock x58 extreme 3
6 gig ocz ddr3 1866mhz @ 1600mhz
evga gtx 460 1gb external exhaust *2
Creative x-fi xtreme gamer
custom watercooling loop for both cpu and gpus


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group