The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Thu Sep 20, 2018 8:49 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: bad news
PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 3:18 pm 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:36 pm
Posts: 439
Location: Lehigh Acres, Fl
come the end of the month I will be moving and the new neighborhood doesn't have any type of High Speed around. I will still be able to do the milestones but I'm going to have to limit the time I do them and such (dial up will suck). Also since I wont have the high speed I'm going to have to keep a close eye on my deadlines so I can dial out and post. Phone company says it migh be in the area around 5-6 months so I'm going to be suffering big time. Bad part is I have to dig out a old modem and install it before I move, guess it gives me a good reason to go thru and repack some of my old computer boxes of junk.

_________________
Amd Phenom 9500 Quad on a ECS a770m mobo
4 gigs ram
ATI Radeon x1950pro w/1 gig ram video card
2 250 gig samsung sata HDs
2 lite on sata dvd burners
all in a raidmax blue neon case running Vista64
total cost under $600 built march 2008


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 4:50 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20859
Location: 07438
Guess some of life's pitfalls include dial-up Web surfing only!! Yes, it isn't nice to go back to DU once you have used DSL! If there is CATV service in the area, mayhaps they can offer DSL? Possibly the local library has DSL or broadband?

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 8:36 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 8:58 pm
Posts: 732
Location: California, USA
librarys have semi fast internet. I jut got high speed internet because it came in our area.

_________________
Gateway MT6707 Notebook
Intel Pentium Dual Core T2060 1.6 GHz
Memory 2048 MB 533MHz DDR2 SDRAM
Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 950
224 MB shared video memory
High definition audio 2 channel
160 GB HD
8X Multi-format dual layer optical drive
802.11g wireless LAN
4 USB 2.0 ports
One VGA port
One S-Video
One IEEE 1394
One PCMCIA Slot

If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 1:57 am 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2003 1:13 pm
Posts: 3094
Location: Limboland
Oh dude! I'm sooo sorry. Once I got high speed I became spoiled. When I would visit my mom over the holidays she only had dial up. I forgot how s l o w that can be. Thank goodness she's now on DSL.

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: bad news
PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 3:38 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
whiteboy wrote:
come the end of the month I will be moving and the new neighborhood doesn't have any type of High Speed around. I will still be able to do the milestones but I'm going to have to limit the time I do them and such (dial up will suck). Also since I wont have the high speed I'm going to have to keep a close eye on my deadlines so I can dial out and post. Phone company says it migh be in the area around 5-6 months so I'm going to be suffering big time. Bad part is I have to dig out a old modem and install it before I move, guess it gives me a good reason to go thru and repack some of my old computer boxes of junk.


Ask Pette Broad on how to organize things, he's had his farm on dialup for quite a while.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 3:29 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20859
Location: 07438
Most dial-up services have an "accelerator" program that does give a boost to speed, but with some loss of image files.
Had used DU for several years, before going DSL. My WUs seemed to turn in with no problems.. just take a lloonngg time!
The only way to get good speed from a DU modem is by going simplex.. with two modems, one Tx only, the other Rx only. But finding a service which would accommodate that setup? Not easy!

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 7:00 pm 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:36 pm
Posts: 439
Location: Lehigh Acres, Fl
just got to wait and see. when i first got my phone line around 4 months ago the website and the csr said it wasn't in my area, but the service tech i talked to said it was since he has been hooking it up all up and down my street for about 6 months. if i checked the website now it still shows my address not having it. keeping fingers cross that when i move i'll plug my modem in and get a signal and their records just dont show it when it is there. I'm keeping my eye open for any techs working the lines around that area and going to ask them just to double check.

_________________
Amd Phenom 9500 Quad on a ECS a770m mobo
4 gigs ram
ATI Radeon x1950pro w/1 gig ram video card
2 250 gig samsung sata HDs
2 lite on sata dvd burners
all in a raidmax blue neon case running Vista64
total cost under $600 built march 2008


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: bad news
PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 4:09 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 5491
Location: Flintshire, U.K
evasive wrote:
Ask Pette Broad on how to organize things, he's had his farm on dialup for quite a while.


Yes, I was on Dialup for the first 12 months that I folded. Things were different then though as Tinkers and smallish Gromacs were the order of the day. Downloads were pretty small, less than 100k if I remember correctly, and uploads were usually under 500k and very rarely over 1mb. You could also download (and upload) timeless units in batches which made it easier.

Not impossible, but difficult to do these days I guess. You would need a good Folding monitor and a lot of patience :)

Pete

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group