The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Sep 25, 2018 7:50 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 11:28 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 10:22 am
Posts: 74
Location: NYC
I haven't been here in a while and when I tried logging in from home it won't log me in. I don't get any error messages, I am just brought to the main forum page but on the top it still says "Log in". So I click again, put in my user name and password and the whole cycle repeats.
Strangely enough I have no problem logging in from work computeer, using the same user name and password.

Both pcs have Windows XP and IE (7 at work, 6 at home)
Have anyone heard of this happening before?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 12:37 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 3:59 pm
Posts: 1960
Location: Orange County, California
Ilisidi wrote:
Have anyone heard of this happening before?

Have you looked at the threads already made? What browser are you using?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2007 8:31 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 10:22 am
Posts: 74
Location: NYC
Yes I looked but noone seems to have exactly the same problem. I don't get any error messages, nothing, the login process seems to be going fine but when it takes me to the forums page I am still not logged in. I put in my user name, password click ok, it seems to be logging me in but it really doesn't. I haven't had any problems before using the same computer with the same browser (IE6 through AOL). I now discovered I can log in using FF so I guess that's how I'll be accessing the forum.

But I still find it strange that I can't log in.

Thanks,


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2007 8:57 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 3:59 pm
Posts: 1960
Location: Orange County, California
Ya, thats the exact same problem discussed in the thread below this one (login issue using Firefox) except on a different browser. Try to clear your cookies, temp files, cache, ect. If that doesn't work, do the same thing and also turn off your firewall. If THAT doesn't work, then your in the same boat as me.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2007 10:18 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
repair your IE6 install. Sometimes it goes t*ts up for no apparent reason. Especially on older machines with less memory.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 12:34 pm 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 10:22 am
Posts: 74
Location: NYC
ok, I didn't look into the FF thread, since I have no problem logging in with FF. I'll try doing what's been suggested and see it that helps. But at least I still can get in with FF.
Thanks,


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group