login issue using Firefox

Please post here with problems or errors you receive while using the forums. This is not for hardware tech support. If you are having problems logging in or registering please post here (you can post as guest - post the username you are having issues with - DO NOT POST YOUR PASSWORD)

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby Daft Ada » Sun Sep 16, 2007 11:44 am

hunter1801 wrote:This is getting really annoying now. Does anyone have any idea on what could be wrong? I can NEVER log on the first try now. The new post icons always get erased still, so I can't tell what thread has new posts.

I clear cookies/temp files, have my firewall off, AND use CCleaner, but it doesn't help. I'm using FF.


Upgrade to IE :wink:
Daft Ada
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1358
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 11:03 am

Postby OldPhatDad » Sun Sep 16, 2007 11:47 am

Managed to log on a day or so ago. Shut down the computer last night and fired it up again this morning. Navigated to this site and I was still logged on (I choose the 'keep me logged in' option for this site when I log in). Cool, says I, things must be working again. Checked out the forums. Browsed a few other sites, then came back.

I was logged out.

Tried to log in 4 times. No go. Browsed some other sites, then shut down the browser and left the computer for a couple hours. Get back on and I'm able to log in again.

So yeah. I'm baffled and annoyed as well. This site just isn't playing friendly with FF for me.
Antec Nine Hundred
Intel C2D E6750 @ 3.6 Ghz
Gigabyte P35 DS3L
Mushkin Redlines 2 x2GB kit
EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896 MB
WD 250 GB SATA2
Seagate 160 GB SATA
WD 500 GB SATA2
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
PC P&C Silencer 750W
Windows XP SP3
OldPhatDad
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 681
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 7:12 pm
Location: Some backwater in the Orion Arm

Postby hunter1801 » Sun Sep 16, 2007 12:56 pm

Daft Ada wrote:
hunter1801 wrote:This is getting really annoying now. Does anyone have any idea on what could be wrong? I can NEVER log on the first try now. The new post icons always get erased still, so I can't tell what thread has new posts.

I clear cookies/temp files, have my firewall off, AND use CCleaner, but it doesn't help. I'm using FF.


Upgrade to IE :wink:


I have the same problem in IE.
hunter1801
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1958
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 3:59 pm
Location: Orange County, California

Postby evasive » Sun Sep 16, 2007 1:11 pm

Don't have issues right now with FF. What version are you using?
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby OldPhatDad » Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:06 pm

evasive wrote:Don't have issues right now with FF. What version are you using?


Using 2.0.0.6.

Opera works fine. I've not tried IE, as I don't particularly care for it.
Antec Nine Hundred
Intel C2D E6750 @ 3.6 Ghz
Gigabyte P35 DS3L
Mushkin Redlines 2 x2GB kit
EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896 MB
WD 250 GB SATA2
Seagate 160 GB SATA
WD 500 GB SATA2
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
PC P&C Silencer 750W
Windows XP SP3
OldPhatDad
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 681
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 7:12 pm
Location: Some backwater in the Orion Arm

Postby hunter1801 » Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:26 pm

Same version (latest). Only have the problem with this site.
hunter1801
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1958
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 3:59 pm
Location: Orange County, California

Postby evasive » Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:28 pm

Sounds like a cookie fubar then. Clear cookies (nothing else) and restart your browser.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby OldPhatDad » Sun Sep 16, 2007 3:15 pm

Did that. Also did that and restarted the computer. No difference.

Today, I've been logged in since around noon, I think. No problems when I browse to other sites and come back; I'm still logged in. I'm going to shut the browser down and reboot. See if I'm still logged in when I get back on.

*edit* Well, all seems to be working fine. We'll see what occurs tomorrow, I guess.
Antec Nine Hundred
Intel C2D E6750 @ 3.6 Ghz
Gigabyte P35 DS3L
Mushkin Redlines 2 x2GB kit
EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896 MB
WD 250 GB SATA2
Seagate 160 GB SATA
WD 500 GB SATA2
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
PC P&C Silencer 750W
Windows XP SP3
OldPhatDad
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 681
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 7:12 pm
Location: Some backwater in the Orion Arm

Postby hunter1801 » Sun Sep 16, 2007 8:03 pm

evasive wrote:Sounds like a cookie fubar then. Clear cookies (nothing else) and restart your browser.


As I said before

I clear cookies/temp files, have my firewall off, AND use CCleaner, but it doesn't help. I'm using FF.


This has been going on for a long time now, and I turn my computer on and off every day.
hunter1801
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1958
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 3:59 pm
Location: Orange County, California

Postby OldPhatDad » Tue Sep 18, 2007 1:03 pm

Just an update. Couldn't log on yesterday (seemed to be almost exactly 24 hours after logging on the day before, if that's significant). Tried a few times and no luck. This morning, I was able to log on with no problems. Curiouser and curiouser.
Antec Nine Hundred
Intel C2D E6750 @ 3.6 Ghz
Gigabyte P35 DS3L
Mushkin Redlines 2 x2GB kit
EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896 MB
WD 250 GB SATA2
Seagate 160 GB SATA
WD 500 GB SATA2
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
PC P&C Silencer 750W
Windows XP SP3
OldPhatDad
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 681
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 7:12 pm
Location: Some backwater in the Orion Arm

PreviousNext

Return to Forum Problems/Errors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron